Uncategorized no image

Published on January 7th, 2011 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Chevrolet Double Win In Macau WTCC 2010

Chevrolet won 2 titles in Macau, the Manufacturers and WTCC title, while Yvan Muller was officially declared Drivers’ WTCC Champion. This double success, the first of Chevrolet and GM in a FIA-sanctioned world championship, seals a perfect finale to the outstanding campaign of the Cruze throughout the season. The championships were conquered with bravura, as Rob Huff and Yvan Muller took adouble win in Race 1, after a faultless flag-to-flag performance. In Race 2,the Chevrolet duo had to fight hard to pass Farfus, finishing 3rdand 4th, which means that Chevrolet has been on the podium in 21 of the 22 races this year. Unfortunately, this was not enough for Huff to take the runner-up position in the championship, as he finished tied in points with Tarquini, declared vice-champion only on number of wins. Alain Menu had a more difficult week-end but showed again his tremendous team spirit and personal bravery, having to cope with the sad news of his dad’s death. The Swiss finished Race 1 in 7th position, after a contact with the wall in lap 1, but could not take advantage from the first row position in Race 2, as a mechanical problem got him stuck on the grid.
 As “We are the Champions!” was being sung in the Chevrolet garage after the race,amid accolades, toasts and some tears, the RML team was preparing for a long night of well-deserved celebrations. Once back in Europe, work will resume, with a new challenge in sight: getting the new Cruze 1.6 turbo as competitive as the current race car in 2011. 

1. RHuff                    Chevrolet Cruze                   11 laps in 35m34s840
2. Y Muller                Chevrolet Cruze                  + 0s366
3. TMonteiro              SEAT LeónTDI                     + 0s631
4. GTarquini              SEAT LeónTDI                     + 0s909
5. N Michelisz            SEAT LeónTDI                     + 1s306
8. AMenu                  ChevroletCruze                   + 2s564
1. N Michelisz              SEAT LeónTDI                     10 laps in54m37s415
2. G Tarquini             SEAT LeónTDI                     + 1s193
3. R Huff                    ChevroletCruze                   + 1s543
4. A Menu                  Chevrolet Cruze                  + 10s886
1. Y Muller(Chevrolet), 331 points
2. G Tarquini(SEAT), 276
3. R Huff(Chevrolet), 276
4. A Priaulx(BMW), 246
5. T Monteiro(SEAT), 177
6. A Menu(Chevrolet), 173
1. Chevrolet,715 points
2. SEAT, 641
3. BMW, 580

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑