Uncategorized no image

Published on January 13th, 2011 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


The 4th Larut Hill International 4×4 Challenge 2010

The 4th Larut Hill International4x4 Challenge closes with a bang but not without the rain. Prizes were presented by YBhg. Tuan Omor Bin Saad representing the Menteri Besar of Perak along with the President of Persatuan Pemotoran Malaysia ( PPM ), Prof. Datuk Dr. Mohd Mydin Mohd Musa and  General manager of Swiss Prestige, Mr. Raymond Tan .
Overall champion this year have been retained by last year Overall winner Mr. Chong Wei Siang & Mr. Andrew Auyong Wei Li in their Isuzu D’Max while Overall 2nd goes to the pair of Mr. Brett Macnamara & Mr. Chris Wil from Australia & Scotland respectively.
Overall 3rd was won by 2008 Overall champion Mr. Eddy Wong & Mr. Pang Seow Kim.
The King of Hill time of 14 minutes 16 seconds set in 2009 by Mr. Chong Wei Siang & Mr. Andrew Auyong Wei Li were broken by none other than the very same guy Mr. Eddy Wong who set the time of 14 minutes 40seconds in 2008, this time a staggering 14 minutes 01 second in reaching the top, 1036 m high and carving the 72 hairpin turns and sharp bends.
The competition this year has been hit by setback of cancellation of special stages due to flooding and heavy downpours. In spite of all these, this year’s challenge set the centre stage for the ultimate challenge, brought out the top guns from as far as Sabah and Johor, bringing the challenge to the next level.
The competition was so intense that only seconds separatedthe top few contenders and the result of the final hill climb stage was to decide the overall winners.
The Two ORIS all ladies team in their rally equipped Suzukis Vitara took the biggest hit when both retired at SS1 getting themselves stuck in muddy trail left behind by the first few competition vehicles.
A total of NINE (9) special stages were planned but two had to be cancelled due to flooding and one due to technical discrepancies.
Only one Thai team went back empty-handled as he was force to retired at SS6 after getting stuck in difficult terrain while the remaining Two teams representing PTT Dynamic Goodyear went off with overall 7th& 12th, giving them a chance to drive up the Bukit Larut Hill (SS9 ).
Overall champion Mr. Chong Wei Siang & Mr. Andrew Auyong Wei Li walk off with a pair of ORIS TT3 watch valued at over RM11,000 while still wearing last year’s pair of ORIS F1 watch that they won.
Prize monies of RM3000, RM2000 & RM1000 was given out to the Overall 1st ~ 3rd respectively.
The Sultan Azlan Shah Challenge Trophy standing atapprox 3 feet tall, 16K gold plated pewter now awaits who will win next year’s challenge, having won twice by Mr. Eddy Wong in 2007 & 2008 and Mr. Chong Wei Siang in 2009 & 2010. Next year will be the deciding factor on who will get to keep the Sultan Azlan Shah Challenge Trophy.
So diehard 4×4 Rally fans, see you all in 2011.

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑