Uncategorized no image

Published on March 23rd, 2013 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Sepang 2013_F1 Support Race – Malaysian Super Series Race 1, Damien Dieleberg Wins Opening Race

Former Malaysian Super Series (MSS) Supersixteen champion Damien Dielenberg rolled back his glorious 2010 as he cruised to victory in the opening round of the series; leading from start to finish to win the Touring Production class at Sepang International Circuit (SIC) yesterday. In what was literally the battle of the Honda Integra DC5s, Damien take full advantage of his pole position as he sped off from the group of 16 cars in a rolling start and immediately opening a gap from Singaporean Gerald Tan and defending champion Perajun Krishnan.  
Joining them in the leading group was Ayyavu Kesavamoorthy , who was also in a Honda Integra machine  as the quartet maintained positions until the sixth lap of the eight-laps contest around the 5.543km Formula 1 circuit.
Entering Lap 7 and as Damien extend his position at the front, Malaysian Tony Teo made his charge as the veteran driver first passed Kesavamoorthy to move into fourth and later passing Perajun in the following lap to take third place in his Honda EP3 machine. Despite a strong late charge by Perajun to wrestle back third place, Tony maintained his position to secure a podium finish and joining Damien and Gerald, who completed the race in 20 minutes 36.288 seconds and 20 minutes 38.996 seconds respectively for first and second place.
The Malaysia Touring Car Challenge category, which was run together with the Touring Production class as Series A, was topped by Proton R3 Racing dynamic duo – Syafiq Ali and James Veerapan. Driving a Proton Satria Neo, Syafiq, the defending champion for the class, completed the race in 21 minutes 36.216 seconds with Veerapan, in a Proton Perve, completing the 8-lap contest in 21 minutes 46.960 seconds. Juzaili Jasmay took third for the class. Series B, featuring the higher powered GT and Sports Production machines, would be running their Race 1 later this afternoon. Race 2 for both series would be held tomorrow morning as the opening programmes for Sunday, which included the all-important F1 race and a number of notable off-track supporting events including the F1 drivers autograph session at SIC Welcome Centre and the after-race concert featuring the legendary band Guns N’ Roses at the SIC Helipad.  
Results – Race 1 (8 laps). Sepang Circuit 5.543km
Top 3 Finishers Touring Production Class
1.Damian Dielenberg (Honda Integra DC5) 20:36.288s
2. Gerald Tan Wee Jun (Honda Integra DC5) 20:38.996s
3. Tony Teo (Honda EP3) 20:51.543s
Malaysia Touring Car Challenge
1.Syafiq Ali (Proton Satria Neo) 21:36.216s
2. James Veerapan (Proton Perve) 21:46.960s
3. Juzailli Jasmay (Satria Neo) 22:34.174s  

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑