Uncategorized no image

Published on March 25th, 2013 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Tommy Lee wins MSS at 2013 F1 support race

Tommy Lee Boon Jun made a great comeback to motors racing scoring victory at the 2013 Formula 1 PETRONAS Malaysia Grand Prix support race. Tommy is the only driver to win the 12-hour Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race (MMER) on three occasions. Taking over driving duties from partner Damien Dielenberg for Race 2 of the Malaysian Super Series for the Touring Production class, Tommy was understandably looking a bit rusty in the first opening laps where he was seriously challenged by Ayyavu Kesavamoorthy. Among a few elite Malaysian drivers to win the prestigious Proton Satria GTI championship, Tommy started from pole position in a rolling start formation courtesy of Damien’s victory in Race 1 Saturday and tried to break away when the Safety Car drove into the pit lane entry. Kesavamoorthy, who clearly had a faster Honda Integra DC5 machine, followed Tommy closely and managed to pass the veteran driver at the first turn; but lost the lead to Tommy on the ensuing tight Turn 2 and Turn 3. Entering the second lap, Kesavamoorthy again made a successful passing maneuver at Turn 1 on Tommy, who again managed to take over the lead, which he was able to hold until the chequered flag. Kesavamoorthy, on the other hand, was passed on Lap 4 by Perajun Krishnan, who was promoted to third for Race 1 after second placedGerald Tan Wee Jun was disqualified for technical infringement and started today’s Race 2 from the back of the grid. Upon overtaking Kesavamoorty, Perajun immediately started his chase on Tommy; butonly managed a 1.2 seconds gap behind Tommy at the end of Lap 6 before the veteran driver cruised away; opening a 3.1 seconds gap at the end of Lap 7 and finishing the 8-lap race with a gap of 4.6 seconds and a total time of 20 minutes 36.708 seconds. Commenting on his victory later, Tommy said the race was very difficult and was never easy at it might seem from the spectators’ point of view. In the Malaysian Touring Car Challenge, Syafiq Ali of Proton R3 Motorsports scored his second victory; winning the class with a time of 21 minutes 29.173 seconds as he finished ninth overall in the race. Indonesian Andrew Haryanto took second place; finishing ahead of the second Proton R3 Motorsport driver, James Veerapan, who had to be contended with third placing for the class. Round 2 for the MSS cars would be held at SIC from May 24 to 26. MSS Series A – Race 2 (8 laps) Top 3 Finishers Touring Production 1. Tommy Lee (Honda Integra DC5) 20:36.708s 2. Perajun Krishnan (Honda Integra DC5) 20:41.318s 3. AyyavuKesavamoorthy (Honda Integra DC5) 20:48.649s Malaysia Touring Car Challenge 1. Syafiq Ali (Proton Satria Neo) 21:29.173s 2. Andrew Haryanto (Proton Satria Neo) 22:01.555s 3. James Veerapan (Proton Perve) 22:08.261s

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑