Formula E Circuit For Putrajaya ePrix Revealed


Published on April 18th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Formula E Circuit For Putrajaya ePrix Revealed


Circuit details for the second round of the 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship have been revealed with the layout of the new Putrajaya ePrix. The Putrajaya Formula E race, or ePrix, takes place six months from now on October 18 and forms the second of 10 races for the inaugural 2014/2015 season. It has been put together by the FIA, Formula E and local promoter Formula E Malaysia (FEM).

Goodyear 650x85(DSF)

Formula E is the FIA’s new fully-electric single-seater championship beginning in September. Racing entirely on temporary city-centre race tracks, it features 10 teams, each with two drivers, using cars capable of speeds in excess of 150mph (225kph). It’s designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans, whilst accelerating the interest in electric vehicles and promoting sustainability.

At 1.59miles (2.56km) and featuring 12 turns, the street circuit is located near the Perdana Putra housing the Prime Minister’s Office, using much of the main high street and passing several of the city’s most recognisable buildings such as the Ministry of Finance. It also encompasses the beautiful Seri Wawasan Bridge and Putra Mosque. It will see drivers tackle a mixture of straights, slow to medium speed corners, a hairpin plus a tight first-corner chicane providing good overtaking opportunities.

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, said: “We’re delighted to be unveiling the layout for the Formula E Putrajaya ePrix today. Six months from now, 20 drivers in state-of-the-art electric race cars will be battling it out on the streets of Putrajaya and I for one can’t wait. My thanks go to all those involved for creating this fantastic circuit and of course to our Malaysian partner and their team for their continued support and commitment to promoting sustainable mobility.”

Last month organisers revealed the circuit design for the season opener of the FIA Formula E Championship, a 2.14miles (3.44km) street circuit around Beijing’s iconic Olympic ‘Bird’s Nest’ Stadium. The next circuit, the Formula E Punta del Este ePrix (Round 3) on December 13 2014, will be revealed six months prior to the race.

Dato’ Sri Johann Young, CEO of Formula E Malaysia, said: “The Putrajaya circuit is designed with precision, factoring in the city’s environment and Formula E’s sustainable commitment, to provide a robust racing circuit for the drivers. Having support from the relevant authorities and the respective sponsors, we will build a championship that provides a lasting impression for all spectators on that day.”


About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑