Published on January 12th, 2016 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


MINI finally takes a stage win at Dakar

Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) and co-pilot Mathieu Baumel (FRA) showed great determination and skill amongst the sand and rocks of Stage 8 to take the win. From the start of the Special Stage, the AXION X-raid Team (#300) crew swept into the lead by Waypoint 1 and held first place until Waypoint 8. After losing the lead by Waypoint 9, Nasser then pushed even harder to eventually cross the finish line 12 seconds ahead of the second placed car. Nasser is now third overall and has reduced the time variation to leader Peterhansel to just 14:43m.

MINI Dakar 2016 (1)

The first desert stage of the 2016 Rally Dakar produced a great day’s racing. Not just because of the driving skill required in the sandy terrain but also the need for pinpoint directions from all of the MINI ALL4 Racing co-drivers. Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) experienced a Dakar desert stage for the first time and, with the experienced co-driver Michel Périn (FRA) by his side, Hirvonen ended the day in his AXION X-raid Team MINI ALL4 Racing (#315) with a fine fifth.


MINI Dakar 2016 (11)

Stage 8 also saw the excellent form of Spanish pairing of Joan ‘Nani’ Roma / Alex Haro of AXION X-raid Team come into play in grand style. They placed their MINI ALL4 Racing (#304) to sixth spot at the end of Stage 8. This now makes them the third MINI ALL4 Racing inside the overall top ten. Orlando Terranova (ARG) and co-driver Bernardo ‘Ronnie’ Graue (ARG) continued to push their AXION X-raid Team MINI ALL4 Racing (#310) and scored seventh place, just 1:28m behind their fellow AXION X-raid Team crew of Roma / Haro. The Dutch crew of Erik van Loon and Wouter Rosegaar (Van Loon Racing #306) maintained their consistency by finishing the day in 10th to retain 11th overall in the standings.

MINI Dakar 2016 (8)

2016 Dakar Rally: Day Ten, Stage 8, Salta – Belén , 766km. MINI ALL 4 Racing standings:


3Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)Mathieu Baumel (FRA)300AXION X-raid Team026:16:27


4Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)Michel Périn (FRA)315AXION X-raid Team026:38:26

+ 00:36:42

10Joan ‘Nani’ Roma (ESP)Alex Haro (ESP)304AXION X-raid Team027:30:05




Erik van Loon (NDL)Wouter Rosegaar (NDL)306Van Loon Racing027:31:48


13Harry Hunt (GB)Andreas Schulz (GER)323X-raid Team027:47:18


15Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski (POL)Andrei Rudnitski (BLR)327ORLEN Team028:09:06


16Orlando Terranova (ARG)Bernardo “Ronnie” Graue (ARG)310AXION X-raid Team028:11:16


18Boris Garafulic (CHL)Filipe Palmeiro (POR)313X-raid Team028:28:15


55Nazareno Lopez (ARG)Sergio Lafuente (URU)351X-raid Team040:55:23


Template BHP

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑