Published on February 2nd, 2016 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Honda-powered Daytona prototype takes the win

Tequila Patrón ESM prevailed Sunday in a hard-fought Rolex 24 at Daytona, scoring Honda’s first overall victory at the famed event and the first IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship win for the new Honda HR35TT twin-turbocharged V6 engine. The ESM Ligier-Honda JSP2, shared by Pipo Derani, Johannes van Overbeek, Scott Sharp and Ed Brown, took the overall win by 26 seconds ahead of the Wayne Taylor Racing Dallara-Corvette DP driven by Jordan and Ricky Taylor, Max Angelelli and Rubens Barrichello, after a see-saw battle throughout the night time hours with multiple contending teams.

The Mike Shank Racing Ligier Honda led more than 90 laps and was a contender for victory before mechanical failure ended its run

Starting on the outside of the front tow, Derani took the lead at the green flag, but soon fell back behind both the similar Ligier-Honda of Michael Shank Racing and the unique DeltaWing, which led much of the opening two hours.  As night descended, the DeltaWing was eliminated by damage from contact with a stalled car, and the race developed into a contest among the pair of Ligier-Honda’s and a half-dozen rival Daytona Prototype teams. Starting third, Michael Shank Racing and drivers A.J. Allmendinger, Oswaldo “Ozz” Negri, John Pew and Olivier Pla moved their Honda-powered Ligier to the front for the first time at the two-hour mark with Pla at the wheel. Negri and Allmendinger also took turns at the point, as the MSR Ligier-Honda led for a total of 99 laps in the first eight hours.  However, mid-way through the ninth hour, engine failure ended the race for MSR.

The Honda-powered ESM team celebrates in Victory Lane at Daytona International Speedway

Although the MSR effort was over for this year’s Rolex 24, the ESM Ligier-Honda continued to run without issue, and at the 12-hour mark held a narrow, two-second lead over a trio of Daytona Prototype efforts, including the #5 and #31 cars of Action Express, and Wayne Taylor Racing #10 Corvette.  As night turned into morning, all four cars remained on the lead lap and in contention for the victory. The ESM Ligier-Honda moved back into the lead for the final time with slightly more than two hours remaining, when Derani took over from co-driver van Overbeek, then caught an passed the #5 Corvette.  Earlier in the race, Derani set fastest race lap, and he again exhibited both speed and control in the final hour to build a convincing, 26-second lead that he maintained to the checkers.

Goodyear banner dsf_650x85

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑