2016 Isle of Man TT Zero Race: Electric Motorcycles Pushing the Boundaries


Published on June 1st, 2016 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


2016 Isle of Man TT Zero Race: Electric Motorcycles Pushing the Boundaries


The Isle of Man TT Zero race is one of the annual highlights of electric motorcycle racing, conducted on a 37.7-mile loop on the public roads on Britain’s Isle of Man. This is where motorcycle companies test their latest technology on one of the toughest race courses in the world. Over the past few years, some major manufacturers as well as smaller manufacturers and college teams have taken part.

The race was dominated by team MotoCzysz from 2010, its first year, until 2013, but sadly, Michael Czysz died earlier this year.

Since 2014, Team Mugen has been dominant and has continually pushed the average speed higher each year: The top average speed in 2010 was 96.8 mph, but the same figure in 2015 was up to 119.3 mph.

Template BHP

Once again, two-time winner John McGuinness on Team Mugen will be the man to beat with the new Shinden Go TT Zero bike. Team Mugen’s bike has been upgraded in all aspects including the battery system, motor, cooling system and monocoque frame, which were all redesigned this year.

The engine puts out 160bhp and 155ft-lbs of torque.  The 250kg monocoque frame uses the shell to support part of the load, which reduces overall weight. McGuinness set the record last year for electric motorcycles at the IOM TT Zero race with an average speed of 119.3mph.

Goodyear f1 650x85(DSF)

Nottingham University once again will enter the IOM TT Zero race after winning the University prize last year.  Their bike has a 12kWh battery and reached an average lap speed of 73.156mph.  This year’s bike can reach a maximum speed of 180mph.


Racer number, name, and team:

  1. John McGuinness – Team Mugen
  2. Dean Harrison – Sarolea Racing
  3.  Lee Johnston – Sarolea Racing
  4. Peter Hickman – Nottingham University
  5. Bruce Anstey – Team Mugen
  6. William Dunlop – Victory Racing
  7. Robert Wilson – Sarolea Racing
  8. Daley Mathison – Nottingham University
  9. James Cowton – Brunel Racing
  10. Matthew Rees – Bath University
  11.  Timothee Monot – TMR
  12. Antonio Maeso – TBA
  13. not assigned
  14. Shaun Anderson – Kingston University
  15. Mark Miller – Splitlath Motorsports

The race will take place on Wednesday, June 8th.

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑