Published on June 15th, 2018 | by Subhash Nair


Nissan Will Race 12 Cities In Season 5 of Formula E

Nissan will race in 12 cities on four continents during season five of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

The venues for the 2018-19 season of the all-electric racing series have been revealed along with an innovative new format. The season will include 13 races in a dozen cities, starting in Saudi Arabia in December and finishing in New York in July. Other venues include Berlin; Hong Kong; Marrakesh, Morocco; Mexico City; Monaco; Paris; Rome; and Zurich. A yet-to-be-announced city in China will host a race on March 23.

Nissan, the maker of the world’s best-selling electric car – the Nissan LEAF – is using the electric racing championship to showcase its Nissan Intelligent Mobility strategy. Electrification is a key pillar of the strategy, which seeks to change how cars are driven, powered and integrated into society. The company aims to sell 1 million electrified vehicles a year by fiscal year 2022, including pure electric vehicles and e-POWER models.

Nissan announced its entry into Formula E at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show. The brand unveiled its Formula E livery at the Geneva Motor Show in March this year.

In addition to the all-new Generation 2 Formula E cars, the upcoming season will include an innovative new race format.

The new Gen2 cars will complete the entire race without the traditional mid-race car swap that was a feature of the previous seasons. Drivers will have 200 kilowatts of power available for the race as a whole but will be able to access 225 kW for periods of the race by passing through a single activation zone. This will be marked on the circuit for fans watching on-site, online or on TV.

The two power modes will be indicated using different colours on an innovative LED system on the drivers’ halo head protection devices. In addition, the groundbreaking FANBOOST system will enable fans to vote for their favourite driver, with the top three getting to use a maximum of 250 kW of power for short periods.

For the season five championship, all Formula E races will have a set time of 45 minutes plus one lap – rather than a predetermined total number of laps.

2018-19 ABB FIA Formula E Championship
1. Ad Diriyah*, Saudi Arabia, Dec. 15, 2018
2. Marrakesh, Morocco, Jan. 12, 2019
3. TBA, TBA, Jan. 26, 2019
4. Mexico City, Feb. 16, 2019
5. Hong Kong, March 10, 2019
6. TBA, China, March 23, 2019
7. Rome, April 13, 2019
8. Paris, April 27, 2019
9. Monaco*, May 11, 2019
10. Berlin, May 25, 2019
11. Zurich**, June 9, 2019
12. New York City, July 13, 2019
13. New York City, July 14, 2019
*Subject to circuit homologation
** Subject to circuit homologation and final approval of the city

About the Author

Written work on @subhashtag on instagram. Autophiles Malaysia on Youtube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑