Motorsports Australian Endurance Championship

Published on September 25th, 2019 | by Amirul Mukminin


Audi Claim Maiden Australian Endurance Championship Title

Geoff Emery, team-mate Garth Tander and Audi Sport have prevailed to claim their maiden Australian Endurance Championship title after an epic battle across three one hour legs at Melbourne’s notorious Sandown Raceway.

Challenging weather that saw all four seasons within hours of each other, technical failures, pit stop infringements and spins, it had it all, but after the dust had settled no-one could deny the popular local team from claiming their third Australian Endurance Championship title in as many years.

Whilst Emery and Tander wrapped up their maiden endurance crown, it was Peter Hackett who claimed the round win in the Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes-AMG, although not without having to turn in arguably his best drive in many seasons, his leg one and leg two battles with the McLaren 720S of Fraser Ross and Ryan Simpson destined to go down in GT3 folklore..

In the GT4 category, not even the return of the McLaren 570S GT4 and a factory English driver could stall Justin McMillan and Glen Wood as they stormed to their maiden title in Australian GT, with team-mates and title rivals David Crampton and Trent Harrison second, the two mighty KTM X-Bow’s finishing 1-2 in the race and in the championship.

“Excellent, very happy. We didn’t have a real good start to the weekend, but we’re lucky we’ve had a solid season this year. Absolutely rapt to do it with Garth, he’s helped me with my other championships, but he never really got any reward out of it at the end of the day, so it’s really good to give something back to Garth,” said Emery.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑