Published on November 22nd, 2019 | by Amirul Mukminin


TGR’s Vios Challenge Racers Take on Sepang 1000KM

This weekend’s Sepang 1000km (S1K) endurance race will see the participation of Toyota Gazoo Racing Festival’s Vios Challenge racers, hot on the heels of Round 2 of the one make championship.

The nine-hour race to 181 laps will also see the entry of 10 Vios race cars, led by UMW Toyota Motor Chief Motorsports Officer Akio Takeyama. He will lead the Toyota Gazoo Racing Malaysia Team charge alongside Super Sporting Class driver William Ho and touring car legend Akira Iida, who has six Le Mans 24-hour race finishes under his belt.

Also participating is Wing Hin Motorsport with two Vios race cars that will be piloted by TGR Season 2 Super Sporting Class champion Boy Wong and Sporting Class driver Dannies Ng.

Akio Takeyama

Other Vios entries include two cars representing HI REV SIC Dream Chaser with the first consisting of Malaysian MotoGP rider Hafizh Syarin, single seater driver Alister Yoong and TGR teenage driver Badley Benedict Anthony. The second Vios will be piloted by lady drivers Angeline Lee and Siti Shahkirah Shaharul.

Team 23 Motors will also field three Vios driven by TGR drivers Ahmad Tarmimi Tahang and Mirza Syahmi, who will be joined by actors Sharnaaz Ahmad, Zizan Razak, Shuib Sepathu, Shahmira Muhamad, Akid Azle and Malaysian sports car racer Zen Low.

Also driving the Vios are BHP Racing’s Azli Mohamed Dali and Shafiq Shaiful Zamri; the quartet of Kenneth Loh, Tan Wei Ming, Teong Chee How and Yak Tze Yih who will be representing OD Racing; St Wangan Racing Team’s Soh Chee Kiat, Lin Zheng Liang and Deric Teo.

Meanwhile, TGR drivers registered to compete in this weekend’s 72-car line up but racing in different makes include 15-year-old teenage sensation Hayden Haikal, as well as Adam Khalid and Freddie Ang for Team HiRev SIC Dream Chaser.

Another Vios Challenge driver in action this weekend will be Season 1 Super Sporting Class champion Tengku Djan Ley, meanwhile Syafiq Ali will also line up on the grid as the most accomplished of the 72-car S1K entrants with three S1K victories to his credit. Meanwhile, Super Sporting Class driver Kenny Lee will take on the role of team manager this time with four cars.

Also competing in the event are current and former TGR drivers Keifli \ Othman, Alif Hamdan, Leona Chin, Season 2 Sporting Class champion Brendan Paul Anthony, Mark Darwin, Eddie Liew and Akina Teo.

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑