Ford FPR Driven By WinterBottom Wins V8 Supercar Weekend


Published on April 7th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Ford FPR Driven By WinterBottom Wins V8 Supercar Weekend

Aussie V8 Ford-1

FPR Ford driver Mark Winterbottom Wins the V8 Supercars weekend with a commanding victory in race three. Winterbottom’s victory on Sunday – ahead of James Courtney and Tim Slade – was also Ford’s first win for the season. Five drivers were given drive-through penalties for speeding in the pit lane, including Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard, as they were challenging for the race lead.

McLaughlin started from pole – becoming Volvo’s first pole-sitter since returning to the championship – and charged off for an early lead ahead of Shane Van Gisbergen. But Van Gisbergen’s Holden struggled for pace and kept the field from making up time on McLaughlin until Winterbottom make a successful pass on lap four.

Winterbottom made up the 3.5-second gap on the leader, shadowing McLaughlin’s car for several laps before finally passing on lap 20 of the 67-lap race. Aside from spells behind Van Gisbergen when the drivers’ pit strategies gave him the edge, Winterbottom was never headed from that point. His strongest challenge came from Coulthard, who was within a second of the Ford driver for much of the race until his penalty with less than 20 laps remaining.

Goodyear f1 650x85(DSF)

Results – 67 laps:                                                                                                                    

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                    Time/Gap

1.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford               1h36m23.4427s

2.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                   9.4911s

3.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden        10.7745s

4.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden           19.7578s

5.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford           20.4569s

6.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                    23.9138s

7.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden         25.3679s

8.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                      27.1194s

9.  James Moffat         Nissan                      27.4023s

10.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden         31.8740s

11.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden           33.6164s

12.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                34.1966s

13.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                      37.2907s

14.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                      37.5238s

15.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes             39.3781s

16.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                   40.7056s

17.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden       52.0213s

18.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes             56.1455s

19.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford           57.0234s

20.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden             57.8328s

21.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford       1m14.7652s

22.  David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford         1m17.9054s

23.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                   +2 laps

24.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                    +2 laps

25.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden            +3 laps

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑