Published on October 12th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


F1 Russian GP 2014, Lewis Hamilton & Mercedes On Top

What a race and what an easy win for the PETRONAS sponsored race team. Lewis Hamilton has won the inaugural Russian F1 Grand Prix and with this win, Mercedes Benz takes the constructors’ title for 2014. It was the 9th victory of the season for the Hamilton, who extends his lead to 17 points over Rosberg (four wins) with three races remaining. The 10th Mercedes one-two of the season also gave the team the constructors’ title, its first as a works team, ending four years of domination by Red Bull. The German marque has dominated the sport in 2014, winning thirteen of the sixteen races so far.

It marks Mercedes’ first ever constructors’ championship in Formula 1. When the German marque last dominated the sport back in the 1950s with Juan Manuel Fangio and Stirling Moss behind the wheel, the trophy was not awarded to the best team. It first came into existence in 1958, by which points Mercedes had withdrawn its works team. It did not return until 2010.

Hamilton was praised by his team over radio for “an awesome drive”. Hamilton replied: “Well done to the team on the constructors’ championship, history in the making.” Drivers took part in a minute’s silence to honour Jules Bianchi who is in a critical condition in hospital after crashing at last Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix.

15.jpg__0x960_q85_crop-smart_mask-0 3px 0 3px

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1h31m50.744s
2Nico RosbergMercedes23h28m09.s
3Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes23h28m09.s
4Jenson ButtonMcLaren/Mercedes23h28m09.s
5Kevin MagnussenMcLaren/Mercedes23h28m09.s
6Fernando AlonsoFerrari23h28m09.s
7Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault23h28m09.s
8Sebastian VettelRed Bull/Renault23h28m09.s
9Kimi RaikkonenFerrari23h28m09.s
10Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes23h28m09.s
11Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes23h28m09.s
12Nico HulkenbergForce India/Mercedes23h28m09.s
13Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso/Renault23h28m09.s
14Daniil KvyatToro Rosso/Renault1 Lap
15Esteban GutierrezSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
16Adrian SutilSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
17Romain GrosjeanLotus/Renault1 Lap
18Pastor MaldonadoLotus/Renault1 Lap
19Marcus EricssonCaterham/Renault2 Laps
Kamui KobayashiCaterham/RenaultRetirement
Max ChiltonMarussia/FerrariRetirement

Drivers’ championship

1Lewis Hamilton291
2Nico Rosberg274
3Daniel Ricciardo199
4Valtteri Bottas145
5Sebastian Vettel143
6Fernando Alonso141
7Jenson Button94
8Nico Hulkenberg76
9Felipe Massa71
10Kevin Magnussen49
11Sergio Perez47
12Kimi Raikkonen47
13Jean-Eric Vergne21
14Romain Grosjean8
15Daniil Kvyat8
16Jules Bianchi2
17Adrian Sutil0
18Marcus Ericsson0
19Pastor Maldonado0
20Esteban Gutierrez0
21Max Chilton0
22Kamui Kobayashi0

Constructors’ championship

2Red Bull/Renault342
6Force India/Mercedes123
7Toro Rosso/Renault29

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑