MotoGP Assen 2015, Valentino Rossi Claims Victory Over Marc Marquez


Published on June 28th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


MotoGP Assen 2015, Valentino Rossi Claims Victory Over Marc Marquez

MotoGP Assen 2015_1

Valentino Rossi moved into the lead from the start of the race and held on to the top spot until Marquez made a move with seven laps remaining. Four laps later, Rossi reclaimed the lead before holding on in a final chicane infraction to take the chequered flag.

MotoGP Assen 2015-Rossi

The two riders were never separated by more than a few tenths throughout the 26 lap race, pulling clear of third placed Jorge Lorenzo who simply couldn’t keep pace at the front. Marquez bided his time for much of the race, sitting patiently in Rossi’s tracks, before moving up the inside under brakes at the first corner.

MotoGP Assen 2015Valent

The Honda rider, who’d reverted to a 2014 frame with 2015 components, was never able to pull clear. With three laps to go Rossi moved back into the lead midway round the lap before opening a half second advantage as they began the final tour.

MotoGP Assen 2015Valentino

Marquez wasn’t giving up and closed the gap to set up a final chicane effort for the win. Deep on the brakes, the reigning world champion slid towards the apex of the corner, touching Rossi and sending the Yamaha bouncing over the gravel. Slowed by the melee, Marquez dropped back allowing the Italian veteran to take the win.

MotoGP Assen 2015Valentino-Rossi




1Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha40m54.037s
2Marc MarquezHondaHonda1.242s
3Jorge LorenzoYamahaYamaha14.576s
4Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati19.109s
5Pol EspargaroTech 3Yamaha24.268s
6Cal CrutchlowLCRHonda24.373s
7Bradley SmithTech 3Yamaha24.442s
8Daniel PedrosaHondaHonda24.656s
9Aleix EspargaroSuzukiSuzuki26.725s
10Maverick VinalesSuzukiSuzuki27.238s
11Danilo PetrucciPramac RacingDucati29.038s
12Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati29.418s
13Scott ReddingMarc VDSHonda46.663s
14Yonny HernandezPramac RacingDucati49.305s
15Loris BazForward RacingYamaha Forward52.396s
16Nicky HaydenAsparHonda56.005s
17Alvaro BautistaAprilia GresiniAprilia59.857s
18Mike Di MeglioAvintia RacingDucati1m14.513s
19Marco MelandriAprilia GresiniAprilia1 Lap
Alex de AngelisIodaRacing ProjectART/ApriliaRetirement
Eugene LavertyAsparHondaRetirement
Stefan BradlForward RacingYamaha ForwardRetirement
Jack MillerLCRHondaRetirement
Hector BarberaAvintia RacingDucatiRetirement

Goodyear banner dsf_650x85


1Valentino Rossi163
2Jorge Lorenzo153
3Andrea Iannone107
4Marc Marquez89
5Andrea Dovizioso87
6Bradley Smith77
7Cal Crutchlow57
8Pol Espargaro56
9Maverick Vinales52
10Daniel Pedrosa47
11Danilo Petrucci44
12Aleix Espargaro38
13Scott Redding30
14Yonny Hernandez28
15Hector Barbera16
16Loris Baz14
17Alvaro Bautista11
18Jack Miller11
19Stefan Bradl9
20Michele Pirro8
21Nicky Hayden8
22Eugene Laverty7
23Hiroshi Aoyama5
24Mike Di Meglio2
25Alex de Angelis1

MotoGP Assen 2015Valssi

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑