TCR Asia Series launches into 2015 season at Sepang


Published on September 5th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


TCR Asia Series launches into 2015 season at Sepang


The Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia will play host to the birth of an exciting new era in Asian motorsport this weekend, with the debut of the new TCR Asia Series. Asia has played an integral role in the development of the successful new Touring Car concept, as the host of the opening rounds of the 2015 International Series which began six months ago at the very same venue. The TCR Asia Series will also contribute to the closing rounds of the 2015 International Series, with the final three events of the TCR Asia Series – Singapore, Thailand and Macau – also playing host to the final three rounds of the International Series.

For David Sonenscher, the TCR Asia Series promoter and the Asian region’s representative of WSC Ltd, the Sepang event is the culmination of almost 12-months worth of hard work.


The successful Seat León TCR cars have been the pace-setters through much of the TCR International Series, with the Craft-Bamboo LUKOIL team currently leading the championship. They too will have a presence in Sepang, but not with the team’s popular local star Frank Yu who campaigned the car back in March, but Eric K. a rising young star from Hong Kong who has been handed the keys of the #99 ‘Hulk’..

Hong Kong’s Prince Racing were one of the first to signal their interest in the TCR Asia Series project, and armed with two brand new JAS Motorsport-built Honda Civic TCR’s, and support from JAS themselves, both Kenneth Lau and Michael Choi are expected to be right in the mix with the leaders.


But like any new project, it will take time for teams to gel with their new machines, and for drivers to understand the machinations of their new cars, something which already has drivers talking.

For others though, the Touring Car philosophy was nothing particularly new, something which Hong Kong’s Andy Yan displayed only too well in official practice #2, shadowing the Asia Racing Team’s Philippe Descombes early in the session, taking the all-new FRD HK Racing Team Ford Focus to within two tenths of Descombes’ best.

That result was perhaps no surprise to fans of the China Touring Car Championship, a category in which Yan is the reigning champion and current points leader in his Ford Focus, whilst team-leader Kenneth Ma has been responsible for the development of the CTCC Ford’s, taking his Changan Ford Racing Team to six of the last eight CTCC titles.

Ma is scheduled to join Yan this weekend, however a delay with customs has slowed the delivery of the team’s second Mountune-built engine, which was going to power the first FRD-built Focus, the Yan car having been originally delivered by Onyx in the UK.


By the close of the two official practice sessions it was Descombes who set the pace with a blistering time in practice #1, the Frenchman ultimately keeping himself on top of the timesheets with the #14 Seat León in session two, with Yan second overall.

Third was local Malaysian driver Kenny Lee who missed unofficial practice in the local Seat León, the Sepang regular – a winner of the Sepang 1000km back in 2010 – showed the value of his immense local knowledge, to topple the leading Honda Civic of Kenneth Lau.

Lau is another driver with a strong Touring car background, the 2010 Hong Kong Touring Car champion enjoying the chance to gain valuable extra miles in the Prince Racing Honda Civic, sharing the experience with Michael Choi, who himself enjoys a long history in Asian competition, the Hong Kong-based driver recently finishing on the podium in a Lamborghini Super Trofeo on the streets of Kuala Lumpur.

Like the Prince Racing Team, Hong Kong’s Roadstar Racing Team were taking their time to get acclimatised with their trio of Seat Leóns, with Masahiko Ida setting the early pace for the team, the Japanese driver though ultimately dropped back behind team-mate Filipe Souza in the second session.

Goodyear f1 650x85(DSF)

There were two non-starters in official practice, ART’s Rodolfo Avila who took a leave of absence for a minor health issue, but is expected to return to push team-mate Descombes in qualifying, whilst Kenneth Ma was unable to make a start whilst waiting for his engine to clear customs.

The three 10-lap TCR Asia Series races will be streamed live via the TCR Asia Series with internationally renowned commentator Jonathon Green calling the shots, make sure you tune in five minutes before the start of each scheduled race to catch the coverage – just remember to check the timezone you’re in against Kuala Lumpur time!

Rnd#1 – 2015 TCR Asia Series, Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Combined times official practice (4 September, 2015)

  1. 14. Philippe Descombes [FRA] (Asia Racing Team Seat León) – 2:20.659 [P1]
  2. 63. Andy Yan [HKG] (FRD HK Racing team Ford Focus TCR) – 2:22.271 [P2]
  3. 83. Kenny Lee [MAS] (Wing Hin Seat León) – 2:22.531 [P2]
  4. 38. Kenneth Lau [HKG] (Prince Racing Hong Kong Honda Civic TCR) – 2:22.940 [P2]
  5. 66. Filipe Souza [MAC] (Roadstar Racing Team Seat León) – 2:23.522 [P2]
  6. 99. Eric K. [HKG] (Craft-Bamboo Racing Seat León) – 2:23.544 [P2]
  7. 68. Michael Choi [HKG] (Prince Racing Hong Kong Honda Civic TCR) – 2:23.936 [P2]
  8. 78. Masahiko Ida [JPN] (Roadstar Racing Team Seat León) – 2:25.771 [P1]
  9. 56. Samson Chan [HKG] (Roadstar Racing Team Seat León) – 2:26.062 [P2]
  10. Rodolfo Avila [FRA] (Asia Racing Team Seat León) – NTR
  11. Kenneth Ma [HKG] (FRD HK Racing team Ford Focus TCR) – NTR

Sepang International Circuit, Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Track length: 5.543-kilometres

Corners: 15

Rotation: clockwise

Designer/Circuit first opened: Hermann Tilke, 7 March 1999

Support classes: GT Asia Series, Porsche Carrera Cup Asia, Audi R8 LMS Cup

Saturday, 5 September

10:30 – Qualifying #1 (15-minutes)

10:50 – Qualifying #2 (15-minutes)

14:00 – Race#1 (10-laps)

Sunday, 6 September

11:00 – Race#2 (10-laps)

14:30 – Race#3 (10-laps)

2015 TCR Asia Series – Calendar

4-6 September, Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia

18-20 September, Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore

23-25 October, Buriram International Circuit, Thailand

20-22 November, Guia Circuit, Macau


About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑