Published on December 6th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


BMW Motorsport celebrates end of 2015 season at BMW Museum

BMW Motorsport held its annual Season Review on Friday evening, during which it looked back on a successful year of racing in 2015. The venue for this popular event was the BMW Museum, which is not only steeped in tradition, but also provided a fantastic party atmosphere. The best-placed participants in the BMW Sports Trophy Driver and Team Competitions were honoured at the event, while other BMW drivers and teams were also presented with BMW Motorsport Awards in recognition of their performances.

BMW Motorsport Dinner Night 2015 (4)

One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the BMW Sports Trophy Honorary Award to Andy Priaulx (GB). A BMW works driver for many years, he made sure of his place in the BMW Motorsport history books when he won three back-to-back titles in the FIA World Touring Car Championship (WTCC). From 2005 to 2007, Priaulx was the man to beat at the wheel of the BMW 320i and BMW 320si. He enjoyed great success with BMW, including victory at the Nürburgring 24 Hours (DE) in 2005. Next season, after over a decade as a BMW works driver, Priaulx is leaving BMW in search of a new challenge.

BMW Motorsport Dinner Night 2015 (1)

Young Swiss driver Louis Delétraz was also honoured. The youngster from year two of the re-aligned BMW Motorsport Junior programme was named “BMW Motorsport Junior of the Year 2015” by a jury. He follows in the footsteps of Jesse Krohn (FI), who made many successful outings for BMW Motorsport in the BMW Z4 GT3 and BMW Z4 GTE in 2015. There were also awards for the winning team from the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (BE), as well as the “Dream Team” of Alessandro Zanardi (IT), Timo Glock (DE) and Bruno Spengler (CA), who caught the eye with their spectacular appearance in the Ardennes.

BMW Motorsport Dinner Night 2015 (5)

Other awards went to the DTM teams and drivers, whose team spirit made it possible for BMW to win the Manufacturers’ title, as well as USCC drivers Dirk Werner (DE) and Bill Auberlen (US). BMW DTM driver Tom Blomqvist (GB) was honoured as “Rookie of the Year”. His colleague António Félix da Costa (PT) was named “Allrounder of the Year”, having enjoyed success in both the DTM and the FIA Formula E Championship. Michela Cerruti (IT) received an award for her maiden victory in the BMW Z4 GT3 on the Nürburgring-Nordschleife (DE).

BMW Motorsport Dinner Night 2015 (2)

The trophies for successes in the BMW M235i Racing Cup went to drivers Michele Di Martino (DE) and Moritz Oberheim (DE), as well as Bonk Motorsport. The top BMW Sports Trophy driver of the year was Christian Büllesbach (DE). As in 2014, the best BMW Sports Trophy team was Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport.

Goodyear banner dsf_650x85

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑