Published on January 9th, 2017 | by Amirul Mukminin


Cub Prix Mulls Addition of a Seventh Class

The 2017 season of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship may see the addition of a seventh race category into its burgeoning race roster.

Race promoters Safe Aim Mutual Sdn Bhd recently announced a 10-round race calendar with the championship’s 24th season set to start in early March and end in November.

The national motorcycle racing series had been operating on a 6-category race format over the past three seasons but the possibility of adding another rookie class is being considered seriously due to growing demand for more grid space among young hopefuls.

“Last year, we ran an extended Rider Search campaign that netted close to a thousand interested participants. Unfortunately, only a fraction would make the final cut into the established talent development programmes conducted by Yamaha and Honda. We acknowledge that there is an urgent need to open the gates a bit wider to allow for more young blood to enter the sport,” said Ron Hogg, Director of Safe Aim Mutual.

The 2017 10-round Malaysian Cub Prix calendar is as follows:
Rd 1 Temerloh, PAHANG 4th & 5th March
Rd 2 MAEPS, SELANGOR 25th & 26th March
Rd 3 KELANTAN 14th & 15th April (Saturday Race)
Rd 4 MELAKA 13th & 14th May
Rd 5 JOHOR 15th & 16th July
Rd 6 Teluk Intan, PERAK 4th & 5th August
Rd 7 Kemaman, TERENGGANU 8th & 9th September (Saturday Race)
Rd 8 Kangar, PERLIS 7th & 8th October
Rd 9 Jempol, N. SEMBILAN 4th & 5th November
Rd 10 Batu Kawan, P.PINANG 18th & 19th November

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑