Published on April 28th, 2019 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


TOYOTA VIOS Challenge Season Winners Are Boy Wong, Brendon Lin & Diana Danielle 

Season 2’s grand finale of the Toyota ViosChallenge drew to a close with the crowning of three new champions in the SuperSporting, Sporting and Promotional classes for professionals, amateurs andcelebrity drivers respectively at the Sepang International Circuit.

Two cautious buttactical finishes in two races over the final weekend of the season were enoughto crown Boy Wong Yew Choong Season 2’s overall champion inthe Super Sporting Class. Leading the championship coming to the North Track ofthe Sepang International Circuit, ST Wangan Racing’s Boy finished third in Race1 on Saturday and cruised pass the finish line in seventh position in Race 2 onSunday. Second overall in the championship was Kegani Racing’s William Ho whileDream Chaser’s Brendan Paul Anthony completed the four-round season in thirdoverall.

Inthe Sporting class for amateur drivers, Tedco Racing’s Brendon Lim claimed theoverall championship with only a single point separating him and ST WanganRacing Team’s Eric Yong, while in third overall was Panglima City Racing Team’sKenneth Koh.

Actress Diana Danielle meanwhile, enjoyed asterling Season 2 to be crowned overall champion in the Promotional Class,becoming the first ever lady driver to clinch the title. Finishing second andthird overall were singers Aiman Tino and Akim Ahmad.

Season2 of the Toyota Vios Challenge consisted of four rounds held in four differentvenues throughout Malaysia and a total of 8 races. The event opened at theSultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Stadium in Kuala Terengganu, before moving to the Malaysia Agro Exposition ParkSerdang (MAEPS) in Selangor,followed by the Batu Kawan Stadium in Penang, before heading to the SepangInternational Circuit.

“It has certainly been a successful Season 2for us, and I am pleased to say that the Toyota Gazoo Racing branding hasgenerated tremendous amount of awareness. We look forward to continuing withthis initiative as long as possible in Malaysia,” said UMW Toyota Motor DeputyChairman Akio Takeyama.


InRace 2, Wiliam Ho of Kegani Racingendured a hard fought battle for victory after leading the 20-lap race frompole position to finish, with Team Nanoplus driver Eddie Liew finishing secondand Laser Motor Racing’s Alif Hamdan in a close third place.

The battle for the lead was intense from start tofinish with Ho unable to pull away from the chasing pack of Team Nanoplusdrivers Keifli Othman and Eddie. Keifli and Liew had a friendly contest amongteam mates for position, but midway through the race Liew found a way aroundthe former to claim second place.

“I wasn’t driving all out in order to conserve thetyres to the end of the race, and thankfully that strategy prevailed,” said Ho.

While Keifli and Liew traded barbs at the front,Laser Motor Racing’s Alif was consistently getting faster every lap and wouldsoon dispose of Keifli for third place. Alif’s challenge for second place however,did not come until the very last lap but Liew kept his cool to retain trackposition and cross the finish line second, 2.4 seconds behind the race winner.


In a heatedly contested Race 2, Tedco Racing;s Brendon Lim was incommanding form, finishing the 20-lap race more than 11 seconds ahead of hisnearest competitor en route to claiming his first ever victory of the season.

“I’ve had a very challenging Season 2 with several misfortunes,technical problems and collisions and I told myself that I needed at least onerace win before the season comes to a close. Thankfully, that came true today,”said Lim.

Eric Yong of ST Wangan Racing crossed the finish line in second placefor his second consecutive podium finish in two days of racing. He was placedthird in yesterday’s Race 1. Third in race 2 was Kulim Top Wheels’ Dato’ KenFoo who held back a last minute challenge from 14-year-old Hayden Haikal.

“I’ve enjoyed every moment of racing in the Toyota Vios Challenge overthe last two seasons. It has certainly improved my driving and I’m lookingforward to be back next season,” said Foo.


In the Promotional Class for celebrities, itwas a series of firsts for the top three winners. Singer Khai Bahar raced tohis first ever race victory of the season, with fellow singer Wany Hasrita andUMW Toyota Motor Deputy Chairman Akio Takeyama making their maiden appearanceson the winner’s podium in second and third places respectively.

“To find myself leading the race andeventually winning is absolutely unreal and to be honest      I was really nervous,” said Khai. “It hasbeen a fantastic and eye opening experience for me and all my fellowcelebrities to have had the opportunity to participate in the Toyota Vios Challenge.”

RESULTS:RACE 2, ROUND 4, Sepang International Circuit


  1. William Ho                               Kegani Racing
  2. Eddie Liew                               Team Nanoplus
  3. Alif Hamdan                            Laser Motor Racing
  4. Keifli Othman                         Team Nanoplus
  5. Freddie Ang                            Telagamas Toyota


  1. Brendon Lim                          Tedco Racing
  2. Eric Yong                                  ST Wangan Racing Team
  3. Dato’ Ken Foo                       Kulim Top Wheels
  4. Hayden Haikal     Prodigy Racing
  5. Kenneth Koh                         Panglima City Racing Team


  1. Khai Bahar
  2. Wany Hasrita
  3. Akio Takeyama
  4. Aiman Tino
  5. Akim Ahmad

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑