Uncategorized no image

Published on November 4th, 2012 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez



Malaysian Super Series three-times Super compact champion Perajun Krishnan today added another title today at Sepang Circuit today by winning the Touring Production Class overall class for the 2012 season, which closed today a wet second race and an unexpected set of results as drivers struggled on the slippery track.
In a combined race of cars in the GT Open Class, Sports Production Class, Touring Production Class and the Malaysian Touring Car Class Two, only Mohamed Ridzuan Nor Mohamed managed a double victory, which prior to today’s final round was a normality.
Winning the opening race, Perajun struggled in the second race finishing third and a lap down to winner A. Kesavamoorthy and second-placed Kenny. That, however, was sufficient to win him the overall crown as he completed the 2012 season with 107.5 points.   
Like Perajun, Frank Yu was unable to keep his winning momentum in the wet as he had to be contended with second in Race 2. Collecting 45 points today, Frank, who competed in a different category in the opening three rounds, managed to finish fourth in the class, which was topped by Vignesa Moorthy.
The VRD Motorsports driver, however, did not have a good outing in Round 5; finishing both races in eighth position and managing a total of 16 points for the round. That gave him a total haul of 97 points to take overall crown with 97 points. Noel Becker of Arrows Racing had an even poorer final round with only 15 points to finish second overall with 87 points.
The dynamic duo of Proton R3 Racing cemented their position further at the top of the Malaysian Touring Car Class Two Challenge with a win and a second place; giving them a massive total of 180 points and a huge advantage of 76-points over second placed Kok Pak Chiang and Sutan Mustaffa, who ended their season on a high with their first win of the season by winning Race 2.
Zen Low, who had to skip Round 5, is the Sports Production champion, winning the class with a total haul of  130 points. Bruce Lee could not take advantage of Zen’s absence to close the gap as Mohamed Nor Ridzuan Nor Mohamed ruled the final round with a double victory.
The 2012 MSS season was supported by three tyre manufacturers – Michelin, Hankook and Pirelli. It is also supported by Panta Fuel and Iktikad Raya, the official distribution for alpinestars products. 
Results Round 5 – Top 3 Finishers   
Sepang Circuit (5.543km)
GT Open Class
Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Frank Yu (Aston Martin GT3) 21:52.724s
2. Mok Weng Sun (Ferrari F458 GT3) 21:59.165s
3. Graham Stephenson (Juno) 21:59.568s
Race 2 (10 laps)  
1.Graham Stephenson (Juno) 26:26.424s 
2. Frank Yu (Aston Martin GT3) 27:30.502s
3. Adrian d’ Silva (Porsche 997) 28:13.749s
Final Championship standings after 5 Rounds
1. Vignesa Moorthy (Radical)      97 pts
2. Noel Becker (Radical)                                87 pts
3. Adrian d’Silva (Porsche 997)   71 pts
Sports Production Class
Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Mohamed Ridzuan Nor (Nissan Fairlady)  22:25.786s (9 laps)
2. Muhammad Hiqmar Danial (Lotus 2-11) 22:26.849s (9 laps)
3. Hu Cheng Wei (Aston Martin) 23:01.641s (9 laps) 
Race 2 (10 laps)
1.Mohamed Ridzuan Nor (Nissan Fairlady)  29:08.560 (9 laps)
2. Hu Cheng Wei (Aston Martin) 27:11.783s (8 laps)
3. Bruce Lee (Lotus) 27:23.637s (8 laps)
Final Championship Standings After 5 Rounds
1.Zen Low (Lotus) 130 pts 
2. Bruce Lee (Lotus)        103 pts
3. Tan Kok Ho (Lotus)     64 pts
Touring Production Class
Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Perajun Krishnan (Honda Integra DC5)                               23:34.120s (9 laps)
2. A.Kesavamoorthy (Honda Integra DC5)             23:39.107s (9 laps)
3. Kenny Lee (Toyota Altezza)    23:40.489s (9 laps)
Race 2 (10 laps)  
1.A.Kesavamoorthy (Honda Integra DC5) 27:46.488s (9 laps)
2. Kenny Lee (Toyota Altezza)    29:15.382s (9 laps)
3. Perajun Krishnan (Honda Integra DC5) 26:51.105s (8 laps)
Final championship standings after 5 rounds  
1.Perajun Krishnan (Honda Integra DC5)                               107.5 pts
2. A.Kesavamoorthy (Honda Integra DC5)             93 pts
3. Kenny Lee (Toyota Altezza) 80 pts
Malaysian Touring Car Challenge Class Two
Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Syafiq Ali/ James Veerapan  (Proton Satria Neo) 22:02.840s (8 laps)
2. Alvaro Mourato (Proton Satria Neo) 22:04.460s (8 laps) 
3. Kok Pak Chiang/ Sutan Mustaffa (Proton Gen 2) 22:05.036s (8 laps)
Race 2
1.Kok Pak Chiang/ Sutan Mustaffa (Proton Gen 2) 29:06.373s (9 laps)
2. Syafiq Ali/ James Veerapan  (Proton Satria Neo) 29:07.682s (9 laps)
3. Alvora Mourato (Proton Satria Neo) 29:19.007s (9 laps)
Final championship standings after 5 Rounds  
1.Syafiq Ali/ James Veerapan  (Proton Satria Neo) 180 pts
4. Kok Pak Chiang/ Sutan Mustaffa (Proton Gen 2) 104 pts
3. Alvora Mourato (Proton Satria Neo)                   81 pts

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑