Published on August 4th, 2013 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Aprilia’s Laverty Claims Pole At World Superbike 2013 at Silverstone

Eugene Laverty claimed the first pole position of his World Superbike career in a strange end to Superpole at Silverstone. The Irishman was the chief beneficiary of a brief shower which turned a session which looked to be running to form completely on its head.

Only four minutes of Superpole 3 remained when drizzle began to fall but rather than let the session run to its conclusion, race direction threw a red flag and ordered a new twenty minute session under ‘wet Superpole’ rules. This was bad news for Kawasaki with Tom Sykes and Loris Baz enjoying a comfortable 1-2 but Laverty wouldn’t be complaining.

Any rain that fell was brief and light and conditions were at their best in the closing seconds when Laverty leapt to the top ahead of Jonathan Rea who had previously pipped Baz. Carlos Checa would steal second from the Ulsterman but Tom Sykes could only manage fifth after dominating the two knockout sessions and he was bewildered by the change in format.

2013 Superbike World Championship – Round Nine: Silverstone
Superpole Result
PosRiderBikeTeamBest Time
1 Eugene LavertyApriliaAprilia Racing Team2:04.730
2 Carlos ChecaDucatiTeam Ducati Alstare2:04.949
3 Jonathan ReaHondaPATA Honda World Superbike2:05.078
4 Loris BazKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team2:05.105
5 Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team2:05.949
6 Chaz DaviesBMWBMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK2:06.369
7 Leon CamierSuzukiFIXI Crescent Suzuki2:06.775
8 Sylvain GuintoliApriliaAprilia Racing TeamNo Time
9 Davide GiuglianoApriliaAlthea RacingNo Time
Eliminated In SP2
10 Jules CluzelSuzukiFIXI Crescent Suzuki2:05.011
11 Max NeukirchnerDucatiMR-Racing2:05.492
12 Leon HaslamHondaPATA Honda World Superbike2:05.573
Eliminated In SP1
13 Ayrton BadoviniDucatiTeam Ducati Alstare2:05.492
14 Michel FabrizioApriliaRed Devils Roma2:05.593
15 Marco MelandriBMWBMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK2:13.317
Failed To Qualify For Superpole
16 Mark AitchisonKawasakiPedercini Team2:07.743
17 Federico SandiKawasakiPedercini Team2:08.106
18 Vittorio IannuzzoBMWGrillini Dentalmatic SBK2:09.543

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑