Marc Ahead Of Rossi In 2013 San Marino Practise |


Published on September 13th, 2013 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Marc Ahead Of Rossi In 2013 San Marino Practise


Marc Marquez narrowly led Dani Pedrosa this afternoon as Repsol Honda enjoyed a comfortable 1-2 in free practice at Misano. The Spanish teammates were separated by just 0.033s but both enjoyed a quarter of a second lead over the quickest Yamaha, Valentino Rossi in third. Having recovered from his warm-up injury sustained at Silverstone, Marquez was straight on the pace in morning practice but Yamaha made the early running in FP2 as Rossi clocked a 1:34.662 to lead teammate Jorge Lorenzo. The Yamahas, boasting a new seamless shift gearbox this weekend, only enjoyed ten minutes of superiority before Marquez overtook them, setting the fastest lap of the day on a 1:34.416.

At the halfway stage, Marquez extended his lead to four tenths of a second with a 1:34.200 and he wouldn’t be headed from there. Pedrosa on the sister bike was the nearest challenger having edged past Rossi and spent the rest of the session chipping away at his teammate’s lead, reducing it to less than a tenth by the chequered flag.

The Yamahas also improved late on but Rossi could only get to within 0.258s while Lorenzo trailed his teammate by half a tenth in fourth. The performance of the day unquestionably came from Aleix Espargaro who took his privateer Aspar machine to fifth with Alvaro Bautista sixth ahead of Michele Pirro and Andrea Dovizioso’s Ducatis.

Stefan Bradl has to work to do tomorrow after going ninth quickest today, crashing at turn six along the way, but no-one has a bigger task ahead of them than Tech 3 with Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith tenth and fourteenth respectively, the latter going down at turn one as he chased a top ten spot.


 GP Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini – Friday Practice Classification
PosRiderBikeTeamLap Time
1 Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:34.200
2 Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:34.233
3 Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha Factory Racing1:34.458
4 Jorge LorenzoYamahaYamaha Factory Racing1:34.495
5 Aleix EspargaroARTPower Electronics Aspar1:34.732
6 Alvaro BautistaHondaGO&FUN Honda Gresini1:34.858
7 Michele PirroDucatiIgnite Pramac Racing1:34.889
8 Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:34.901
9 Stefan BradlHondaLCR Honda MotoGP1:35.107
10 Cal CrutchlowYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:35.208
11 Andrea IannoneDucatiEnergy T.I. Pramac Racing1:35.218
12 Nicky HaydenDucatiDucati Team1:35.392
13 Danilo PetrucciIoda-SuterCame IodaRacing Project1:35.933
14 Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:36.004
15 Claudio CortiFTR KawasakiNGM Mobile Forward Racing1:36.122
16 Colin EdwardsFTR KawasakiNGM Mobile Forward Racing1:36.181
17 Hector BarberaFTRAvintia Blusens1:36.198
18 Randy de PunietARTPower Electronics Aspar1:36.283
19 Hiroshi AoyamaFTRAvintia Blusens1:36.646
20 Karel AbrahamARTCardion AB Motoracing1:37.310
21 Michael LavertyPBMPaul Bird Motorsport1:37.329
22 Yonny HernandezARTPaul Bird Motorsport1:37.334
23 Bryan StaringFTR HondaGO&FUN Honda Gresini1:37.722
24 Lukas PesekIoda-SuterCame IodaRacing Project1:38.962


About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑