..."/>Sepang Drag Battle, A Daihatsu Charade Wins Round 4 |


Published on September 11th, 2013 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Sepang Drag Battle, A Daihatsu Charade Wins Round 4

Sepang Drag_BGR6783-1

Suzaimi Ahmad has been crowned as the new champion of Sepang Drag Battle for the premier class after collecting his second win of the season at Sepang International Circuit to open an unassailable lead over his rivals with one more round to go.

Driving a Daihatsu Charade, Suzaimi won Round 4 last Saturday (September 7), defeating Mohd Zaidi Amzah and his Proton Satria machine in the final contest to collect five precious points to take his total haul to 10 points and a seven-point advantage over second placed Hairul Izane Mohd Ashror, who did not compete.

Mohd Rizal Ibrahim, who drove a Mitsubishi Evo machine, took third place and added two more points to join Hairul Izane and Mohd Zaidi at second place with three championship points.

The contest in the five remaining classes – B, C, D, E and F would extend into the final round, scheduled at SIC on November 23.    

Driving a Proton Satria machine, Mohd Haqif Fawwaz Basirun collected his second victory in succession as he topped the contest for Class B by beating Anuar Wahab in the final run to move on top of the championship standings with 10 points.

Pointless in Round 4, Izza Wandee Zainal remained at seven points dropping to second place in the overall standings and trailed Mohd Haqif by three points. Ahmad Firdaus Azman is third in the standings with 4 points and is out of the title race.

In the absence of defending champion and championship leader, Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder, second round winner, Mohamad Anuar Sajot ruled Class C. He defeated Nur Faizun Nasri in the final run to take his total haul to 10 points and close the gap on Iqbal, who has 12 points.

Finishing third in Round 4 and collecting two precious points, Khairul Anwar Ahmad moved to the top of the standings for Class D with 9 points, and holding a one-point advantage over Muhd Haqif Fawwaz, who failed to score any points last Saturday.

Round 4 was topped by Anuar Wahab, who collected his first points of the season for the class as his five points took him at par with Mohd Iqram Ismail Tajinder in third overall for the class. Anuar beat Wan Izani Sulaiman in the final race to win the round.

In the battle of the super compact machines in Class E, the close battle between Mohd Amri Na’aem and Mohd Aniz Aizaq Mohd Affandi with the former topping the rivalry again as he took his third win of the season, taking his total haul to 18 points and a hand on the coveted crown.

Winner in Round 2, Aniz had to be contended with second place again, collecting three championship points and now trailed his rival by four points with one round to go. Azizul Arif Ahmad Zaki took third place, and has now moved to third in the championship standings with three points.

Dominated by Nur Faizun for the last three rounds, Class F had a new winner in Azizul Hazry Abdul Aziz, who closed the gap between him and the championship leader by picking five championship points from Round 4.

Driving a Honda CRX machine, Azizul, who defeated Zulkifli Zainal Abidin to top Round 4, now has 10 points against Nur Faizun’s haul of 15 points.

The final round for Sepang Drag Battle this year will be held on 23rd November. Fans, do not forget to witness who will be crowned as the real Sepang Drag King this year.

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑