Formula Masters Races 10 &11, Soloman Wins In Sepang


Published on August 16th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Formula Masters Races 10 &11, Soloman Wins In Sepang

FMCS_Yuan Bo_Race 10_Sepang

Hong Kong driver Matthew Solomon (18) of Eurasia Motorsport got his weekend off to a perfect start with victory in Races 10 and 11 of the FMCS today at Malaysia’s Formula 1 track, the Sepang International Circuit.  Solomon, who has now won four consecutive races, beat FMCS Drivers Classification leader James Munro (17) of Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG in both races and is now just 20 points out of first place with tomorrow’s Race 12 still to come.

In Race 10, Briton Dan Wells (22) of Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG finished third, behind Solomon and Munro, ahead of Australian Jake Parsons (19) of Meritus.GP who is making his series debut this weekend. Indonesia’s Darma Hutomo (16) of Humpuss Junior Racing Team rounded out the top five, while FMCS Best Chinese Driver Trophy leader Yuan Bo of Eurasia Motorsport was sixth.

Race 11 saw Parsons reach the FMCS podium for the first time, ahead of Hutomo and his compatriot and team mate Senna Iriawan (17), who scored his best series finish to date. Star Racing Academy driver Bao Jin Long of Zen Motorsport was eighth and the top Chinese driver.

While Munro continues to lead the Drivers Classification, Solomon is hot on his heels with four straight victories. Wells is third, a further 36 points adrift after being unable to start Race 11 due to a broken rear wishbone. Yuan leads the Best Chinese Driver Trophy ahead of Zen Motorsport’s Yin Hai Tao and is also fifth overall behind Hutomo.

This morning’s wet Race 10 saw plenty of drama with the heavy rain. Starting from pole, Parsons held onto the lead at the start, with Solomon, Wells and Munro behind him. On the third lap, Parsons spun and fell back to fourth, handing Solomon the lead with Wells behind him. Munro got by Wells and began battling with the Hong Kong driver for the lead. After Munro spun on Lap 5, Solomon was in the clear and remained unchallenged for the remainder of the 10-lap race to take victory by 8.902 seconds. Behind Solomon, team mates Munro and Wells battled, but Wells couldn’t get past.

With Parsons maintaining fourth, Hutomo worked his way up from 13th on the grid to finish fifth, while Yuan also made his way up to sixth having started   11th.

FMCS_Race 10 podium_Sepang

With the fastest lap times from Race 10 determining the grid for the six-lap Race 11, it was Solomon who started from pole position, with Munro alongside him. Wells and Yuan formed the second row, with Parsons and fellow FMCS newcomer Philip Hamprecht (17) of Super License on the third row.

Munro had a strong start and soon overtook Solomon for the lead. With Wells unable to start, Yuan moved into third but fell back to sixth after the first lap. He would go on to finish ninth. Parsons made his way up to third, with Hutomo off like a rocket to go from ninth to fourth by the end of the first lap.

Solomon took back the lead on Lap 2, with Parsons staying close to Munro; the two would battle for the remainder of the race. Hutomo was behind in fourth while Yuan overtook to move up into fifth. Yuan spun on Lap 4, falling to the middle of the field and he finished ninth. While Bao started from the back of the field, the Star Racing Academy driver worked his way up to finish eighth overall.

Race 12 will take place over 10 laps tomorrow at the Sepang International Circuit.

2014 Formula Masters China Series: Results Race 10

119Matthew SOLOMON (HKG)Eurasia Motorsport26:00.718
240James MUNRO (NZL)Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG+8.902
316Dan WELLS (GBR)Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG+9.696
427Jake PARSONS (AUS)Meritus.GP+24.251
58Darma Mangkuluhur HUTOMO (INA)Humpuss Junior Racing Team+32.561
618YUAN Bo (CHN)Eurasia Motorsport+39.327
721Mandla MDAKANE (RSA)Meritus.GP+58.968
833Daniel WOODROOF (MAS)Meritus.GP+1:05.173
99Philip HAMPRECHT (GER)Super License+1:19.533
107Ronald WU (HKG)Zen Motorsport+1:26.828
1111HUA Miao (CHN)Eurasia Motorsport+2:11.471
1224Dominic TJIA (HKG)Eurasia Motorsport+2:37.261
DNF55Takashi HATA (JPN)Super License
DNF17PU Jun Jin (CHN)Eurasia Motorsport
DNF36Yasuo Senna IRIAWAN (INA)Humpuss Junior Racing Team
DNF88Anderson MARTONO (INA)Meritus GP
DNF29YIN Hai Tao (CHN)Zen Motorsport
DNF6BAO Jin Long (CHN)Zen Motorsport

Goodyear 650x85(DSF)

Fastest Lap: Matthew Solomon (HKG)/ Eurasia Motorsport/ 2:26.571/ 136.144kph

2014 Formula Masters China Series: Qualifying Race 11

119Matthew SOLOMON (HKG)Eurasia Motorsport13:18.183
240James MUNRO (NZL)Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG+2.633
327Jake PARSONS (AUS)Meritus.GP+2.796
48Darma Mangkuluhur HUTOMO (INA)Humpuss Junior Racing Team+10.841
536Yasuo Senna IRIAWAN (INA)Humpuss Junior Racing Team+12.827
69Philip HAMPRECHT (GER)Super License+16.879
721Mandla MDAKANE (RSA)Meritus.GP+22.626
86BAO Jin Long (CHN)Zen Motorsport+22.884
918YUAN Bo (CHN)Eurasia Motorsport+23.980
107Ronald WU (HKG)Zen Motorsport+25.104
1111HUA Miao (CHN)Eurasia Motorsport+47.808
1224Dominic TJIA (HKG)Eurasia Motorsport+1:03.341
1355Takashi HATA (JPN)Super License+1:52.761
DNF29YIN Hai Tao (CHN)Zen Motorsport
DNF33Daniel WOODROOF (MAS)Meritus.GP
DNF88Anderson MARTONO (INA)Meritus GP
DNF17PU Jun Jin (CHN)Eurasia Motorsport
DNF16Dan WELLS (GBR)Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG 

Fastest Lap: Matthew Solomon (HKG)/ Eurasia Motorsport/ 2:10.939/ 150.002kph

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑