WRC 2014 Finland, Latvala Triumphs At Home


Published on August 5th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


WRC 2014 Finland, Latvala Triumphs At Home

WRC Ogier-Monte-Carlo-2014

A great day for duo Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN) and a great day for Volkswagen: for the first time in four years, the Finnish duo triumphed in their home event in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC). Latvala/Anttila won ‘their’ rally in the Polo R WRC in what proved to be a veritable thriller all the way to the finishing line, clinching victory over their teammates Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F) by just 3.6 seconds. There was nothing to choose between the VW duo through the final leg, with Latvala bringing his lead back up to five seconds on Sunday’s opener, before Ogier took 1.3s back on the next stage.

Ogier was faster by one tenth on the Powerstage to claim maximum bonus points, but Latvala had the huge satisfaction of taking the first home win on Rally Finland since his own 2010 triumph, as he won by a final margin of just 3.6s.

Volkswagen’s excellent team success was rounded off by Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene (N/N) finishing in fourth place overall. Volkswagen has therefore equalled its best team result to date in the WRC, which it set at Rally Argentina in May. Ahead of Rally Germany on 21 to 24 August, Volkswagen therefore has match balls to clinch all three WRC championship titles, for the manufacturer, the driver and the co-driver.

Goodyear 650x85(DSF)                                                   

Pos  Driver              Team/Car           Time/Gap

1.  Jari-Matti Latvala  VW               2h57m23.2s

2.  Sebastien Ogier     VW                    +3.6s

3.  Kris Meeke          Citroen              +50.6s

4.  Andreas Mikkelsen   VW                 +1m52.5s

5.  Mikko Hirvonen      M-Sport Ford       +2m49.7s

6.  Juho Hanninen       Hyundai            +4m29.0s

7.  Elfyn Evans         M-Sport Ford       +5m25.8s

8.  Hayden Paddon       Hyundai            +6m17.8s

9.  Henning Solberg     Solberg Ford      +12m07.0s

10. Karl Kruuda         ME3 Ford          +14m44.7s*

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑