Formula E Grand Prix Putrajaya Is On Today


Published on November 22nd, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Formula E Grand Prix Putrajaya Is On Today

Formula E Grand Prix Putrajaya3

Round 2 of the 2014/2015 FIA Formula E season takes place today, as the world’s first all-electric racing series heads to Malaysia for the Putrajaya ePrix. Two months after its debut in Beijing, Formula E’s high intensity racing returns to the tropical temperatures of South East Asia, aiming to relive the successful and dramatic start witnessed in China’s opening event.

Formula E Grand Prix Putrajaya2

Following 25 laps of wheel-to-wheel racing around Beijing’s Olympic Park, on the limit brushes with the barriers and a spectacular last lap collision between race leaders Nico Prost and Nick Heidfeld with only one corner remaining, Lucas di Grassi made history to take the first ever chequered flag and claim the honour of becoming Formula E’s inaugural winner.

With attentions moving to November 22nd, the 20 drivers and 10 teams resume battle in the humidity of Malaysia to take the victory crown in the city of Putrajaya. The Putrajaya Formula E racetrack is promised to be exciting. The 2.56 kilometre temporary circuit is located in the centre of the Government area and features 12 turns. In comparison with Beijing, the track looks very natural and includes only one chicane after start and finish. The race will go over 31 laps on Saturday 2pm local time. Qualifying groups ahead for the second race of the all-electric FIA Formula E Championship which is being held in Putrajaya, Malaysia.

There is a tough competition expected within and between the four groups, especially if you look at group 3: front runners Nico Prost and Sebastien Buemi and Nick Heidfeld (Venturi) will be in a direct battle. Qualifying starts at 10:00 am local time. Each group has 10 minutes to perform two laps.

Formula E Grand Prix Putrajaya1

Group 1
Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing
Matthew Brabham, Andretti Formula E
Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi Formula E
Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT Formula E
Nelson Piquet Jr, China Racing

Group 2
Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing
Jarno Trulli, Trulli Formula E
Michela Cerruti, Trulli Formula E
Franck Montagny, Andretti Formula E
Ho-Pin Tung, China Racing

Group 3
Oriol Servia, Dragon Racing
Jerome d’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing
Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault Formula E
Sebastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault Formula E
Nick Heidfeld, Venturi Formula E

Group 4
Sam Bird, Virgin Racing
Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing
Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT Formula E
Antonio Felix da Costa, Amlin Aguri
Katherine Legge, Amlin Aguri

Goodyear 650x85(DSF)

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑