Asian Le Mans 2014, 3 Hours of Sepang – Qualifying


Published on December 7th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Asian Le Mans 2014, 3 Hours of Sepang – Qualifying


Yesterday morning Asian Le Mans Series teams were the first on the track to complete the final Free Practice before Qualifying. Free Practice 3 gave the drivers one last session to familiarise themselves with the circuit, and the teams a final opportunity to test out the cars before Qualifying.

PU Jun Jin, driving for Eurasia Motorsport #27 clocked a fastest lap time of 2:02.488 to lead LM P2. Craft-Bamboo Racing took the top spot in CN Category and recorded a fastest lap time of 2:08.791. In the GT Category Team AAI #90 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 led second place Team AAI #92 by 9 seconds with a fastest lap-time of 2:19.294 .


The grid of the final race of Asian Le Mans Series was decided later in the morning with Qualifying for tomorrow’s 3 Hours of Sepang.

As expected the competition was unbelievably close and Ho-Pin TUNG secured pole position for OAK RACING TEAM TOTAL in their #1 Morgan-Judd with a fastest lap of 1:56.875. Eurasia Motorsport will start in second place tomorrow and only 0.104 seconds behind OAK RACING TEAM TOTAL, James WINSLOW set a fastest lap time of 1:56.979 in their #27 LM P2 Oreca Nissan.


Craft-Bamboo Racing suffered an oil pipe problem in yesterday’s Free Practices, however their #77 LIGIER JS 53 EVO preformed well and claimed pole position in the CN Category. Jonathan VENTER set a fastest lap time of 2:04:687. Due to an engine problem Team Avelon Formula were unable to take part in yesterday’s Free Practice 1. However their #21 Wolf GB08 was in good condition during Qualifying with a fastest lap time of 2:04.852 set by Sean HUDSPETH.

33 CHENG David (USA) TUNG Ho Pin (NLD) FONG Adderly (CAN) Ligier JSP2 HPD Lmp2 team Oak Racing Team Asia , action pit stop during the 2014 the 24 Hours of Le Mans from June 13th to the 15th 2014, at Le Mans circuit, France. Photo Florent Gooden / DPPI

The GT teams turned it up during Qualifying with Marco SEEFRIED from Team AAI #92 BMW Z4 recording a 2:05.078 to qualify in pole. Only 0.3 seconds behind #92 was Team AAI #91 BMW Z4 drove by Tatsuya TANIGAWA clocked 2:05.385, 0.26 seconds ahead of Team AAI third GT entry #90 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 who set their fastest lap time of 2:05.649. Clearwater racing took the fourth place in the GT category with a quickest lap time of 2:06.045.


After all teams recorded quick times in Qualifying they will now be making their final preparations to produce their best performance in today’s race.

Goodyear f1 650x85(DSF)

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑