Formula Masters China Series 2015 season-opener |


Published on April 26th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Formula Masters China Series 2015 season-opener


Formula Masters China Series (FMCS) newcomer Martin Rump of Estonia made an impressive Asian debut by winning Race 1 at Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit, leading from pole to flag in a faultless display of car control after a tropic downpour. The 19-year-old Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG driver crossed the line more than three seconds ahead of second-placed driver, Australian Jake Parsons of Meritus GP, who is contesting his first full FMCS season this year after finishing fourth in 2014.

South African Matthew Swanepoel did new FMCS team Arrows Racing proud, climbing from seventh on the grid to claim the final podium place after a 9-lap race which began behind the Safety Car.

With thunderclouds a precursor to a torrential Malaysian downpour, the start was delayed. With all earlier sessions this weekend held in dry conditions, the drivers did well to quickly acclimatize to the dramatically-altered track.

As racing got underway, Rump made a good getaway as the Safety Car pulled off, leaving his rivals – led by Parsons – in a cloud of spray. Behind the Australian, a spin ended the race of Eurasia Motorsport’s Asuka Muratomi after just two laps, the Japanese driver having qualified third.

Asuka’s brother and team mate, Takeru Muratomi was running a strong third, ahead of Swanepoel and Muratomi’s team mate Aidan Read. However, with Takeru’s retirement after a spin, Swanepoel inherited the final podium place.

Thailand’s Worawong Komarakul (Meritus.GP) had an eventful opening race. After stalling on the grid, he ploughed through the field to cross the line fourth, but was later handed two, 30 second penalties for regulation infringements, dropping him down to the bottom of the time sheets.

Goodyear banner dsf_650x85

That promoted Aidan Read (Eurasia Motorsport) to fourth, ahead of Nicholas Rowe (Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG) and Sean Hudspeth (Eurasia Motorsport). Top finisher amongst the Chinese drivers was Meritus.GP’s Yuan Bo, 2014 FMCS Chinese Driver Champion.


There was disappointment for Star Racing Academy newcomer, Chinese driver Zheng Shangguan of Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG, when a technical glitch prevented him for starting the race, however fellow SRA driver and team mate Jeffrey Ye managed to successfully navigate the atrocious track conditions to complete his debut race, finishing 10th.

Earlier, in the two Qualifying sessions to set the grids for Race 1 and Race 3, Rump was quickest in the first session, ahead of Parsons, Asuka and Takeru Muratomi. However, Asuka secured pole for Race 3 in the second qualifying run, setting the fastest overall lap of both sessions.

After the opening race of the 2015 FMCS season, Rump leads the Drivers Classification from Parsons, Swanepoel and Read, and Yuan tops the Chinese Drivers Classification from Eurasia Motorsport’s Hua Miao and Ye. Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG tops the race for the team title with a ten point lead from Meritus.GP.

The 18-race season continues tomorrow with Races 2 and 3 at the Sepang International Circuit. Having set the fastest lap in Race 1, Jake Parsons will start the 6-lap Race 2 from pole position, with Rump alongside on the front row.

FMCS_Race 1 Action_Malaysia

Race I

14Martin RUMP/ESTCebu Pacific Air by KCMG26:06.199
227Jake PARSONS/AUSMeritus.GP+3.134
349Matthew SWANEPOEL/RSAArrows Racing+12.548
424Aidan READ/AUSEurasia Motorsport+15.145
52Nicholas ROWE/AUSCebu Pacific Air by KCMG+21.337
654Sean HUDSPETH/SINEurasia Motorsport+37.652
77KIM Jeong Tae/KOREurasia Motorsport+38.397
88YUAN Bo/CHNMeritus.GP+39.979
911HUA Miao/CHNEurasia Motorsport+41.158
101Jeffrey YE/CHNCebu Pacific Air by KCMG+1:06.516
1139Tomoki TAKAHASHI/PHISuper License+1.09.665
1277Worawong KOMARAKUL/THAMeritus.GP+1.12.881
55Takashi HATA/JPNSuper LicenseDNF
19Takeru MURATOMI/PHIEurasia MotorsportDNF
99Asuka MURATOMI/JPNEurasia MotorsportDNF
3ZHENG Shangguan/CHNCebu Pacific Air by KCMGDNF


Fastest Lap/Jake Parsons/ Meritus.GP /2:23.941/114.668kph


Qualifying I

14Martin RUMP/ESTCebu Pacific Air by KCMG2:07.109
227Jake PARSONS/AUSMeritus.GP2:07.545
399Asuka MURATOMI/JPNEurasia Motorsport2:07.549
419Takeru MURATOMI/PHIEurasia Motorsport2:07.633
516Daniel WOODROOF/MALMeritus.GP2:07.653
677Worawong KOMARAKUL/THAMeritus.GP2:07.822
749Matthew SWANEPOEL/RSAArrows Racing2:08.067
824Aidan READ/AUSEurasia Motorsport2:08.121
92Nicholas ROWE/AUSCebu Pacific Air by KCMG2:08.146
1054Sean HUDSPETH/SINEurasia Motorsport2:08.348
1139Tomoki TAKAHASHI/PHISuper License2:08.505
128YUAN Bo/CHNMeritus.GP2:08.737
137KIM Jeong Tae/KOREurasia Motorsport2:08.785
143ZHENG Shangguan/CHNCebu Pacific Air by KCMG2:08.951
1511HUA Miao/CHNEurasia Motorsport2:09.385
161Jeffrey YE/CHNCebu Pacific Air by KCMG2:10.367
1755Takashi HATA/JPNSuper License2:10.870


About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑