Published on April 14th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Porsche Carrera Cup Asia – Round 2 Tung Takes Victory in Shanghai

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

China’s Tung Ho-Pin took his second career Porsche Carrera Cup Asia victory in front of an ecstatic home crowd in Shanghai last weekend after an unforgettable 12-lap race. The Budweiser Team Absolute Racing driver clinched the win in Round 2, held as part of the Chinese F1 Grand Prix weekend, ahead of pole-sitter Rodolfo Avila of Team Jebsen, and Team Porsche Holding’s Martin Ragginger.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

The Class B race winner was Modena Motorsports’ Wayne Shen of Hong Kong, who grabbed victory in dramatic fashion from Team Kangshun’s Andersen P. Martono in the closing metres of the final lap. Martono was another driver to be penalised by race stewards after he collided with Team Jebsen’s Yuey Tan, putting him 17th on the results. That meant second place went to Johnson Huang of Team BC Racing, who took his first Class B podium in just the second race of second season. Third was Samson Chan of Hong Kong.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

After the Shanghai double header, Baird leads the race for the overall title, but with a slim one-point lead over Avila. Tung and Ragginger are tied in third, just a single point adrift of the Macau driver, promising a thrilling championship battle over the coming 12 races. In Class B, Wayne Shen leads the charge, three points ahead of Tan, with Huang’s superb performance putting him third on the leaderboard.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

Tung’s hard work pulling clear of his rivals came to nothing though when the Safety Car was called out for a second time on Lap 8. The smell of victory was strong through, and at the restart the following lap, Tung got away well and, despite a last-lap wobble at the parabolica, stormed home to a well-earned victory.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

Having once again ignited the flame of sportscar fascination amongst the Shanghai fans with a superb season-opener, the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia will be back in action next month, with another double-header, this time at the Korea International Circuit from May 15-17. At South Korea’s F1-standard circuit, the battle for the overall and Class B 2015 Porsche Carrera Cup Asia championship titles will resume in earnest.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia 2015 Round 2 – Results

158TUNG Ho-Pin (CHN)Budweiser Team Absolute Racing (HKG)28:09.136
220Rodolfo AVILA (MAC)Team Jebsen (HKG)+1.985
386Martin RAGGINGER (AUT)Team Porsche Holding (CHN)+2.305
412Craig BAIRD (NZL)Clearwater Racing (SIN)+2.990
58Ro Charlz SKYANGEL (SIN)Team Yonda Dongfang (CHN)+9.385
655BAO Jin Long (CHN)Zheng Tong Auto (CHN)+10.243
716Wayne SHEN (HKG)BModena Motorsports (HKG)+16.832
872Alif HAMDAN (MAS)Alif Hamdan Motorsports (MAS)+19.693
951Johnson HUANG (TPE)BTeam BC Racing Team (TPE)+23.557
102*Samson CHAN (HKG)BSamson Chan (HKG)+24.999
115Yuey TAN (SIN)BTeam Jebsen (HKG)+30.306
123Michael S. (INA)BOpenRoad Racing (HKG)+30.396
1399Nico MENZEL (GER)PICC Team StarChase (CHN)+33.148
1488Hugues RIPERT (HKG)BSpark Motorsport (HKG)+37.697
159LI Chao (CHN)BTeam Betterlife (CHN)+38.216
1623Paul TRESIDDER (AUS)BPaul Tresidder (AUS)+40.862
1711*Andersen P MARTONO (INA)BTeam Kangshun (CHN)+47.090
1880Sontaya KUNPLOME (THA)BRacing Spirit Thailand (THA)+66.754
18Vutthikorn INTHRAPHUVASAK (THA)BChang Racing Team (THA)DNF
65ZHU Jun Han (CHN)BAbsolute Racing (HKG)DNF
69Christian CHIA (CAN)BOpenRoad Racing (HKG)DNF
22*SIU Tit Lung (HKG)BLKM Racing (HKG)DNF
17FUNG Yui Sum (HKG)BArrows Racing (HKG)DNF

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

78Suttiluck BUNCHAROEN (THA)BTrue Visions Motorsports Thailand (THA)DNF
28John SHEN (HKG)BModena Motorsports (HKG)DNF
21Francis TJIA (HKG)BOpenRoad Racing (HKG)DNF
98*Max TWIGG (AUS)BMax Twigg (AUS)DNF
68Chris VAN DER DRIFT (NZL)Kamlung Racing (HKG)DNF

*Non series registered

Fastest lap: Nico Menzel/PICC Team StarChase/2:09.859/Lap4/151.114kph

Overall Points after Round 2 (top 5)

PosComp NoDriverEntrantPoints
112Craig BairdClearwater Racing34
220Rodolfo AvilaTeam Jebsen33


58Tung Ho-PinBudweiser Team Absolute Racing32
86Martin RaggingerTeam Porsche Holding32
58Ro Charlz SkyangelTeam Yonda Dongfang22

Class B Points after Round 2 (top 5)

PosComp NoDriverEntrantPoints
116Wayne ShenModena Motorsports36
25Yuey TanTeam Jebsen33
351Johnson HuangTeam BC Racing26
42Samson ChanSamson Chan21
11Andersen P MartonoTeam Kangshun21

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑