Published on July 12th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Félix da Costa lands the first pole position of his DTM career

One day after the first podium of his DTM career in Zandvoort (NL), António Félix da Costa (PT) is on pole for the first time. The BMW Team Schnitzer driver clocked the fastest time of 1:30.483 minutes in the second qualifying at the 4.307-kilometre “Circuit Park Zandvoort”. This made his Red Bull BMW M4 DTM just 58 thousandths of a second faster than Bruno Spengler’s (CA) car, who qualified second in the BMW Bank M4 DTM. Places three and four also went to BMW drivers, in the form of Augusto Farfus (BR, Shell BMW M4 DTM) and Saturday’s winner Marco Wittmann (DE, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM).

BMW DTM M4 Zandvoort 2015 (3)

Timo Glock (DE) also made it into the top ten, qualifying seventh in the DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM. However, he then had to pull over at the side of the track on his way back to the pit lane. Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) and Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M Performance Parts BMW M4 DTM) were 11th and 13th. Tom Blomqvist (GB) was held up by another competitor on his flying lap, which prevented him from qualifying any higher than 21st.

BMW DTM M4 Zandvoort 2015 (1)

Félix da Costa may not have had a particularly strong season last year, collecting 6 points in the DTM season over two races, but he definitely has had a promising start. Among the young drivers tested by Red Bull, he finished with the second fastest time of the day during the test sessions back in 2012. After his exit from Formula Renault 3.5 back in 2013, he transitioned to DTM and Formula E, although it seems that for now he will be sticking to DTM.

BMW DTM M4 Zandvoort 2015 (5)

BMW Motorsport results:

#13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM

1:30.483 minutes – 1st

#7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM

1:30.541 minutes – 2nd

#18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM

1:30.623 minutes – 3rd

#1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM

1:30.650 minutes – 4th


1:30.834 minutes – 7th

#36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM

1:30.908 minutes – 11th

#77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM

1:30.970 minutes – 13th

#31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM

1:31.425 minutes – 21st

Goodyear banner dsf_650x85

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑