Published on January 15th, 2016 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


13 days in, MINI is still in top 5 for Dakar

Once again the combination of Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) and co-pilot Mathieu Baumel (FRA) showed the form that captured them the 2015 Dakar title by placing their AXION X-raid Team (#300) MINI ALL4 Racing first across the Special Stage finish line. Starting from 14th, the MINI ALL4 Racing crew quickly showed their intentions by passing the first Waypoint in third. This perfect display of fast driving and navigation continued and reaped the rewards of first in stage and a reduction in the overall time variation to leader Peterhansel.


MINI Dakar 2016 (2)

Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) and co-driver Michel Périn (FRA) in the AXION X-raid Team MINI ALL4 Racing also showed a fine turn of speed and navigation excellence. They placed their MINI ALL4 Racing (#315) in third. In the overall standings, Hirvonen retains fourth. The #304 MINI ALL4 Racing of Spanish pairing Joan ‘Nani’ Roma and Alex Haro (AXION X-raid Team) was the third MINI ALL4 Racing number to finish within the top ten. Their hard work paid off with a fine sixth – the same position they now hold in the overall ranking.

MINI Dakar 2016 (14)


All of the MINI ALL4 Racing crews showed exactly what has made the MINI ALL4 Racing an iconic long-distance rally car. At the end of Stage 11, seven MINI ALL4 racing had completed inside the top fifteen. Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski (POL) and Andrei Rudnitski (BLR) of ORLEN Team (#327) ended Stage 11 in 12th. Directly behind their MINI ALL4 racing at the finish was a trio of fellow MINI ALL4 racing crews.

MINI Dakar 2016 (10)

In 13th was the consistent duo of Harry Hunt (GBR) and Andreas Schulz (GER). They retain tenth overall. Showing no effects of the dramatic roll endured on Stage 10, Erik van Loon (NLD) and Wouter Rosegaar (NLD) put in a perfect performance to claim 14th at stage end. Orlando Terranova (ARG) and co-driver Bernardo ‘Ronnie’ Graue (ARG) from AXION X-raid Team (#310) put in a fine effort to finish 15th – just six minutes behind fellow MINI ALL4 Racing man Przygonski.

MINI Dakar 2016 (7)

2016 Dakar Rally: Day 13, Stage 11, 712km La Rioja – San Juan .
MINI ALL 4 Racing standings:

2Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)Mathieu Baumel (FRA)300AXION X-raid Team038:34:15


4Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)Michel Périn (FRA)315AXION X-raid Team039:05:07

+ 01:22:47

6Joan ‘Nani’ Roma (ESP)Alex Haro (ESP)304AXION X-raid Team039:36:54


10Harry Hunt (GB)Andreas Schulz (GER)323X-raid Team040:30:22




Erik van Loon (NDL)Wouter Rosegaar (NDL)306Van Loon Racing042:55:57


14Orlando Terranova (ARG)Bernardo ‘Ronnie’ Graue (ARG)310AXION X-raid Team43:01:17


17Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski (POL)Andrei Rudnitski (BLR)327ORLEN Team04322:12


TBABoris Garafulic (CHL)Filipe Palmeiro (POR)313X-raid Team 
TBANazareno Lopez (ARG)Sergio Lafuente (URU)351X-raid Team 
TBAAdam Malysz (POL)Xavier Panseri (FRA)325ORLEN Team 

Template BHP

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑