Published on January 16th, 2016 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


4 MINIs in the top 10 for Dakar

Celebratory congratulations are directed towards Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) with the advent of his first ever Dakar Rally Special Stage win. The AXION X-raid Team (#315) driver and co-driver Michel Périn (FRA) finished Stage 12 in the number one slot after a Special Stage consisting of 481k of hard packed, pebble and rock littered terrain. After a near-faultless display of consistent driving in his first ever Dakar Rally – a completely new racing arena and experience for the former WRC driver – this is a much deserved win for Hirvonen. He now sits fourth overall but still has ambition to complete this Dakar inside the top three.

BMW MINI Dakar 2016 (9)


Al-Attiyah (QAT) and co-pilot Mathieu Baumel (FRA) continued their fight for the Dakar top slot by finishing Stage 12 in second place. The close run stage proved to be an exciting spectacle for crews and spectators alike and ended with Nasser pushing hard in his MINI ALL4 Racing (#300) to complete the stage only nine seconds behind fellow AXION X-raid Team driver Hirvonen. Spain’s Joan ‘Nani’ Roma and Alex Haro (AXION X-raid Team #304) secured a top five position in their MINI ALL4 Racing. At stage end they took a hard fought fifth because of the lack of room to overtake and the problems with dust kicked up by competitors.

BMW MINI Dakar 2016 (8)


Orlando Terranova (ARG) and co-driver Bernardo ‘Ronnie’ Graue (ARG) from AXION X-raid Team (#310) once again displayed their renowned high-speed determination and navigational skills to complete in the top ten with a fine end of stage seventh to place them 12th overall. Stage 12 saw Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski (POL) and Andrei Rudnitski (BLR) of ORLEN Team (#327) complete the day in 12th. Barely 11 minutes separated them between the next two hard charging MINI ALL4 Racing crews of Erik van Loon (NLD) / Wouter Rosegaar (NLD) of #306 Van Loon Racing (15th) and Boris Garafulic (CHL) / Filipe Palmeiro (POR) of # 313 X-raid Team in 16th.

BMW MINI Dakar 2016 (1)

Ending the stage in 23rd was the #323 MINI ALL4 Racing of Harry Hunt (GBR) and Andreas Schulz (GER). This result means Hunt retains tenth overall and a major result for the young Englishman in his first Dakar event. The remaining MINI ALL4 Racing family members Nazareno Lopez (ARG) and Sergio Lafuente (URU) of X-raid Team (#351), and Adam Malysz (POL) / Xavier Panseri (FRA) of ORLEN Team (#325) are still amongst the thick of the action and making ground from time lost in the early racing stages.

BMW MINI Dakar 2016 (2)

2016 Dakar Rally: Day 14, Stage 12, 931km San Juan – Villa Carlos Paz .
MINI ALL 4 Racing standings:


2Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)Mathieu Baumel (FRA)300AXION X-raid Team044:08:41


4Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)Michel Périn (FRA)315AXION X-raid Team044:39:24

+ 01:11:42

6Joan ‘Nani’ Roma (ESP)Alex Haro (ESP)304AXION X-raid Team045:14:20


10Harry Hunt (GB)Andreas Schulz (GER)323X-raid Team046:36:40


12Orlando Terranova (ARG)Bernardo ‘Ronnie’ Graue (ARG)310AXION X-raid Team48:41:34




Erik van Loon (NDL)Wouter Rosegaar (NDL)306Van Loon Racing048:52:13


16Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski (POL)Andrei Rudnitski (BLR)327ORLEN Team049:09:14


22Boris Garafulic (CHL)Filipe Palmeiro (POR)313X-raid Team052:55:25


TBANazareno Lopez (ARG)Sergio Lafuente (URU)351X-raid Team067:40:27


TBAAdam Malysz (POL)Xavier Panseri (FRA)325ORLEN Team 

Goodyear banner dsf_650x85

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑