Following its initial FIA World Touring Car Championship season in 2016 that exceeded al..."/>Polestar Cyan Racing Wants To Dominate WTCC This Year |


Published on February 28th, 2017 | by Subhash Nair


Polestar Cyan Racing Wants To Dominate WTCC This Year

Following its initial FIA World Touring Car Championship season in 2016 that exceeded all expectations, Polestar Cyan Racing has ramped up the 2017 programme with three new Volvo S60 Polestar TC1 race cars, new drivers and a firm goal to become World Champions.

Three key elements have been put into place to achieve the ultimate target: experienced drivers in Thed Björk, Néstor Girolami and Nicky Catsburg, a significant increase in engineering and technical resources and an extensive off-season test programme.

Four-time STCC champion Thed Björk continues as a driver for Polestar Cyan Racing, having been a vital part of the development programme as well as claiming the team’s first WTCC victory in Shanghai last year. Björk is joined by two new drivers.

Double Argentinian Super TC 2000 champion Néstor Girolami drove one race weekend for the team last season and impressed on his debut, earning him a full-time drive, as well as a part in the development programme.

New to the Polestar Cyan Racing team, but not to the WTCC, is experienced Dutch racer Nicky Catsburg, having raced and won in the WTCC since 2015.

The Polestar Cyan Racing team has been busy since the 2016 season end in November last year with an off-season test programme on circuits in southern Europe with the 400-hp Volvo S60 Polestar TC1 race car.

 Preparations have been boosted and accelerated by the team’s new 18 million euro CYAN Motorsport Center, located in Gothenburg, Sweden. The facilities will be completed in March, marking the biggest ever motorsport project in Scandinavia. The workshop spans over 6.000 m2 and holds all departments needed for a WTCC title assault, including an F1-standard simulator, fully dynamic engine dyno, chassis and engine manufacturing, design office and more.

The 2017 WTCC season starts on April 8-9th in Morocco and spans for ten race weekends on four continents, ending on December 1-2nd in Qatar. Next up for the Polestar Cyan Racing team is the official WTCC pre-season test at the legendary Monza circuit in Italy on March 14-15th.

2017 WTCC Calendar

April 14-15th – Pre-season test – Monza, Italy

April 9th – Marrakech, Morrocco

April 30th – Monza, Italy

May 14th – Hungaroring, Hungary

May 27th – Nürburgring Nordschleife, Germany

June 25th – Vila Real, Portugal

August 6th – Termas De Rio Hondo, Argentina

October 15th – Shanghai, China

October 29th – Motegi, Japan

November 19th – Macau, China

December 1st – Losail, Qatar

About the Author

Written work on @subhashtag on instagram. Autophiles Malaysia on Youtube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑