Published on November 15th, 2019 | by Subhash Nair


Toyota Eco Youth 2019 Champion is SMK Tamparuli

The 2019 Toyota Eco Youth champion was announced today as the programme concluded. The winning school, SMK Tamparuli beat 11 other secondary schools with their ‘Pisang Magnet & Buah Ozon” project, earning them RM10,000 in prize money. Coincidentally, the teacher in charge of the project, Mr. Ernest Kelly Subin also took home an RM500 cash voucher for being the Most Supportive Teacher.

Here’s the press release with more information and the list of other winners.


The 19th Edition of Toyota Eco Youth (TEY) Programme today concluded with SMK Tamparuli from Sabah became the Champion, beating 11 other secondary school from around the country. The Champion school who presented their project entitled ‘Green Technology – Pisang Magnet & Buah Ozon” bring back RM10,000 prize money.  Not only that, their teacher who has guided them throughout the project, Mr. Ernest Kelly Subin also selected to become the Most Supportive Teacher.

In its 19th edition this year, TEY carries the theme ‘Be the Superhero to Save the World’. It incorporates elements from the Toyota Environmental Challenge 2050, a global initiative by Toyota Motor Corporation which aimed at going beyond zero environmental impact.

The programme, one of UMWT’s annual Corporate Social Responsibility activities was jointly organized with Malaysian Ministry of Education, aims to cultivate environmental awareness and instill good environmental habit in young Malaysians as they are the future caretaker of the environment.

Find out more information from the press materials and information from the link below:

The overall result is as below:


Champion        – SMK Tamparuli, Sabah (RM10,000)

2nd Place         -SMK Toh Muda Abdul Aziz, Perak (RM7,000)

3rd Place          – SRI KDU Secondary School, Selangor (Rm5,000)

4th Place          – SMK Tunku Kurshiah, Negeri Sembilan (RM3,000)

5th Place          – SMK Yong Peng, Johor (RM2,000)

Best Video category:

SMK Yong Peng, Johor (RM1,000)

Most supportive teacher:

RM500 Cash Voucher, Mr Ernest Kelly Subin from SMK Tamparuli, Sabah

About the Author

Written work on @subhashtag on instagram. Autophiles Malaysia on Youtube.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑