Uncategorized no image

Published on September 17th, 2011 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Merdeka Millenium Race 2011 Sepang, Malaysia

Nexus Racing Team stormed to the top place during qualifying at the Sepang International Circuit in the Sports Production Class, clocking the total time of 7 minutes 04.124 seconds placing them 11th overall.  Nexus Racing team owner and driver Adrian Henry D’ Silva was pleased with the performance of his Aston Martin and looked confident for a win.
PETRONAS Syntium Team led by local driving ace, Fariqe Hairuman, Tatsuya Kataoka and Bernd Scheider  topped the qualifying sessions in a Mercedes SLS with a total 6 minutes 16.346s. They will be followed by another Petronas Syntium team in the front row, led by Nobuteru Taniguchi and compatriot, Masataka Yanagida from Japan as the duo bid to improve on third place last year. Dominic Ang, who replaces Imran Zaharias from last year completes the 3 driver line up, clocking a total of 6 minutes 17.231s. Following the two Mercedes SLS are Belgian Audi with Le Mans 24 Hours champions, Marcel Fassler ably supported by runner up last year, Frank Biela and Marco Werner. The dream team of Le Mans winners were expected to do well in qualifying but with this being a marathon rather than a sprint, the marginal difference is not expected to count for much in this 12 Hour Endurance Race. Biela, will be hoping to erase the disappointment of last year after issues with the speed and weight of the car prevented them from giving a stronger challenge to Tengku Hammam and co of Arrows Racing who opted out this year. The race this year will commence in noon and end at midnight, with Biela already preparing beforehand with their Audi R8 LMS fitted with air conditioners in anticipation of the heat. Meanwhile, JC Racing trio – Eddie Liew, Patrick Tam, Keifli Othman – was the fastest in the Touring Production class, in 13th place overall with a total time of 7 minutes 18.557 seconds. Besides the race which is opened free for the public, there will be many exciting events held around the circuit, with the main attraction being the 12 Hours 12 DJ 1 Race 1 Party featuring hot international DJ’s rocking the circuit tonight. Keeping the crowd awake all night long during the 12 hour endurance race are Cassie D, Aurology, Zass Zuss, RAsz Tooten, Shane, Adham Nasri, Popcorn Perky, DJ K, Ramsey and Nicky C. MMER 2011 – QUALIFYING RESULTS AND GRID POSITIONS 1. Tatsuya Kataoka/Fariqe Hairuman/Bernd Schneider (Mercedes SLS) 6:16.346s 2. Nobuteru Taniguchi/Masataka Yanagida/Dominic Ang (Mercedes SLS) 6:17.231s 3. Frank Biela/Marcel Fassler/Marco Werner (Audi R8 ) 6:18.421s 4. Mok Weng Sun/Gianmaria Bruni/Matthew Griffin (Ferrari F458) 6:18.829s 5. Siu Yuk Lung/Keita Sawa/Dominik Schwager (Lamborghini LP560) 6:19.413 6. Darryl O’Young/Seiji Ara/Alex Yoong(Audi R8) 6:19.753s 7. Frank Yu/Alain Jacques Gilbert Li/Stefan Johansson (Ford GT3) 6:22.946s 8. Jeffrey Lee/Alexandre Imperatori/Aaron Lim (audi R8) 6:24.476s 9.Billy Fung/Christian Jones/Akihiro Asai (Lamboghini LP560) 6:24.662 10.Franz Engstler/Dominik Kraihamer/Andrei Romanov (BMW Z4) 6:31.997s GT Class Top 3 1. Tatsuya Kataoka/Fariqe Hairuman/Bernd Schneider (Mercedes SLS) – PETRONAS Syntium Team 2. Nobuteru Taniguchi/Masataka Yanagida/Dominic Ang (Mercedes SLS) – PETRONAS Syntium Team 3. Frank Biela/Marcel Fassler/Marco Werner (Audi R8 ) – Belgian Audi Club Touring Production Top 3 1. Eddie Lew/Patrick Tam/Keifli Othman (Honda DC5) – JC Racing 2. Wong Yew Choong/Soh Kee Koon / Lai Wee Sing (Honda Civic FD2 Mugen)-Type R Racing Team 3. Piti Bhirombhakdi/Butthikorn/Apathorn Karvasut (Honda FD2-R)-Singha Honda Total Team Thailand Sports Production Top 3 1. Adrian D’ Silva/M.Fahrizal/Ian Ross Geekie (Aston Martin Vantage) – Nexus Racing Team 2. Denis Lian/Oh Siang Hui,Eugene/James Fancourt Mitchell (Lotus) – Aylezo motorsports 3. Masatama Kawaguchi/Masayuki Ueda/Norio Kubo(Honda S2000) – Tracy Sports

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑