Published on May 19th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


MSS – REVIEW RACE 2 OF ROUND 1, Double Win for Helmi

14-year old Muhammad Helmi Azman showed mental strength and maturity beyond his young years as he scored his second victory for the weekend at the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) by winning Race 2 of the MGP-3 class in Sepang. Starting from pole position, the Shell Asia Talent Cup rider, however, was closely challenged throughout the eight-lap race by Muhammad Ibrahim Norrodin, who had to be contended with another second placing after losing out to Helmi the day before.

Helmi completed the race in 19 minutes 32.922 seconds and merely 0.226 seconds ahead of Ibrahim, who needed 19 minutes 33.148 seconds. Fakhrusy Syakirin Rostam took third placing with 19 minutes 37.219 seconds. Riding a Honda NSF250F machine for Team Raceline Malaysia, Helmi said he fully enjoyed the series and was looking forward for closer contest with his rivals in the upcoming Round 2, which will be held from June 6 to 8 as support races to the 2014 eni FIM Superbike World Championship Malaysian Round in Sepang.

After crashing out in the opening round in Qatar, Helmi finished ninth in Round 2 at Sentul International Circuit, Indonesia where he was the top performer among seven Malaysian riders in the inaugural junior development series. In a combined race with the MGP-3 riders, Siti Norafizah, or just Fifi among friends and family members, finished 10th overall with a time of 21 minutes 54.593 seconds; edging out Jazli at the finish line with a gap of 0.056 seconds.

Results – Race 2

Top 3 Finishers

Superstock Championship (10 laps)

1.Steve Martin (Kawasaki ZX10) 22:45.540s

2.Nils Uchida Zakariassen (Kawasaki ZX10R) 23:02.050s

3. Mohd Zairie Zaharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 23:09.946s

MGP-3 Championship (8 laps) 

1.Muhammad Helmi Azman (Honda NSF250 ) 19:32.922s

2. Muhammad Ibrahim Norrodin (Honda NSF250) 19:33.148s

3. Fakhrusy Syakirin Rostam (Honda NSF250)  19:37.219s

250cc Open (8 laps)

1.Siti Norafizah Muhamad (Kawasaki Ninja 250) 21:48.252s

2. Muhammad Jazli Juraimi (Kawasaki Ninja 250) 21:48.523s

3. Muhammad Fazli Mansuar (Kawasaki Ninja 250) 22:01.689s

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑