Rally Of Sweden, VW Takes Thrilling Win


Published on February 16th, 2015 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


Rally Of Sweden, VW Takes Thrilling Win

Rally of Sweden

Sebastien Ogier emerged victorious in a thrilling Rally Sweden showdown, as Volkswagen team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen threw away a potential maiden World Rally Championship win on the final stage. But a similar fate befell Mikkelsen part-way through the event-closing Varmullsasen power stage, ending his hopes of taking a first WRC victory as Ogier came through to snatch the win, as well as three bonus points for setting the best time on the finale.

Rally Of Sweden_1

Hayden Paddon took a career-best fifth place finish in the second factory Hyundai, a further minute behind Tanak, with the second M-Sport car of Elfyn Evans sixth after he managed to beach his Ford Fiesta in a snow bank on Friday. Jari-Matti Latvala was in strong victory contention, duelling with team-mate Ogier on the early stages of the rally, but the Finn’s hopes were dashed when he lost eight minutes stuck in a snow bank on the final stage of Friday. He ended the rally out of the points in 12th position.

Rally Of Sweden_3

Also enduring a miserable time was Robert Kubica, who dropped out of the points on Friday with a broken propshaft before being handed a five-minute penalty for his Ford Fiesta RS WRC exceeding the maximum permissible boost level, dropping him to 20th overall.


1Sebastien OgierVolkswagen MotorsportVolkswagen2h55m30.5s
2Thierry NeuvilleHyundai MotorsportHyundai6.4s
3Andreas MikkelsenVolkswagen Motorsport IIVolkswagen39.8s
4Ott TanakM-Sport World Rally TeamFord2m26.0s
5Hayden PaddonHyundai MotorsportHyundai3m31.5s
6Elfyn EvansM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3m53.0s
7Kris MeekeCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen4m05.8s
8Martin ProkopJipocar Czech National TeamFord4m26.0s
9Yuriy ProtasovM-Sport World Rally TeamFord5m32.2s
10Mads OstbergCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen6m50.9s

Rally of Sweden1


1Sebastien OgierVolkswagen MotorsportVolkswagen8m05.6s
2Thierry NeuvilleHyundai MotorsportHyundai4.8s
3Mads OstbergCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen9.9s
4Jari-Matti LatvalaVolkswagen MotorsportVolkswagen11.5s
5Elfyn EvansM-Sport World Rally TeamFord15.2s


1Sebastien Ogier53
2Thierry Neuville30
3Andreas Mikkelsen30
4Jari-Matti Latvala19
5Mads Ostberg14
6Elfyn Evans14
7Ott Tanak12
8Hayden Paddon10
9Kris Meeke10
10Daniel Sordo8
11Martin Prokop6
12Sebastien Loeb6
13Yuriy Protasov2

Goodyear 650x85(DSF)

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑