Published on October 3rd, 2016 | by Amirul Mukminin


West Seals First 600cc Win at Buddh

Australian rider Anthony West continued to dominate at the Buddh International Circuit, host to Round 5 of the 2016 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship. The international rider who has had vast experience in the WSBK and MotoGP, clocked fastest during the first day of practice and secured his maiden ARRC pole position on Saturday morning with 1’55.528s. The 35-year-old went on to convert his start position into his first ARRC win.


The SuperSports 600cc race was eventful at the start, especially when Thai rookie Patis Chooprathet crashed on the front straight at the end of Lap 1. Though the rider was uninjured, the incident brought out the red flag. The race was eventually restarted but reduced to 13 laps from its original 16. Only Thai rider Decha Kraisart was able to match West’s pace on the 5.15km circuit. Behind them, Indonesian rider Ahmad Yudhistira was also prominent as he rapidly closed in on the leading duo.


On the long and wide track where top end speed was the winning factor, West rode unchallenged to the chequered flag with a time of 25’21.592s followed by Decha Kraisart in second place and Yudhistira in third.

“I feel very comfortable on this track. It wasn’t an easy win even though I was four seconds in front of the others. I was able to take advantage when the riders behind me were fighting each other and slowing themselves down. In this race class, starting from pole position and a good run into the hole shot is essential to enjoy an easy race. If you were to start in the middle group, it would be hard to fight your way to the front,” said West.


However, West’s win has had minimal impact on the championship table. Tomoyoshi Koyama picked up ten points in sixth place, and extended his lead to 141 points. Zaqhwan Zaidi is now second overall with 133 points. Early title contenders Yuki Takahashi and Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman were third and fourth respectively with 117 points and 100 points each.


ARRC Results Race 1

SuperSports 600cc
1. Anthony Keith West (AUS) Yamaha 25’21.592s
2. Decha Kraisart (THA) Yamaha 25’26.378s
3. Ahmad Yudhistira (INA) Kawasaki 25’27.491s
4. Yuki Takahashi (JPN) Honda 25’30.030s
5. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (MAS) Kawasaki 25’30.834s

Overall Standings:
1. Tomoyoshi Koyama (JPN) Honda 141pts
2. Md Zaqhwan Zaidi (MAS) Honda 133pts
3. Yuki Takahashi (JPN) Honda 117pts
4. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (MAS) Kawasaki 100pts
5. Dimas Ekky Pratama (INA) Honda 99pts

Asia Production 250cc
1. Apiwat Wongthananon (THA) Yamaha 20’35.958s
2. Anupab Sarmoon (THA) Yamaha 20’36.163s
3. Takehiro Yamamoto (JPN) Kawasaki 20’37.437s
4. Vorapong Malahuan (THA) Honda 20’37.834s
5. Galang Hendra Pratama (INA) 20’38.004s

Overall Standings:
1. Apiwat Wongthananon (THA) Yamaha 196pts
2. Takehiro Yamamoto (JPN) Kawasaki 151pts
3. Anupab Sarmoon (THA) Yamaha 117pts
4. Peerapong Loiboonpeng (THA) Yamaha 108pts
5. Yusuke Nakamura (JPN) Yamaha 83pts

Underbone 130cc
1. Ahmad Fazli Sham (MAS) Yamaha 17’19.913s
2. Md Amirul Ariff Musa (MAS) Honda 17’20.514s
3. Md Izzat Zaidi Salehan (MAS) Yamaha 17’21.451s
4. Md Shah Khairil Hisham (MAS) Yamaha 17’21.533s
5. Md Adib Rosley (MAS) Yamaha 17’21.971s

Overall Standings:
1. Md Amirul Ariff Musa (MAS) Honda 103pts
2. Md Izzat Zaidi Salehan (MAS) Yamaha 98pts
3. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana (INA) Yamaha 93pts
4. Ahmad Fazli Sham (MAS) Yamaha 85pts
5. Nazirul Izzat Md Bahauddin (MAS) Honda 65pts

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑