Published on December 3rd, 2016 | by Amirul Mukminin


ARRC: Decha Fastest, But Zaqhwan Doesn’t Care

The Thai riders have fired the opening salvo as the final round of the 2016 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship got underway at the Chang International Circuit in Buriram, Thailand this weekend. Yamaha Racing Thailand’s Decha Kraisart was the fastest SuperSports 600cc rider of the day, setting a benchmark of 01’39.586s during the second free practice session. However, Malaysian ace Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi is hardly concerned about the sudden spurt of speed from Decha and team Yamaha Racing Thailand.


Zaqhwan posted second fastest with 01’39.716s and is exactly where he needs to be in order to keep his championship hopes alive – ahead of championship leader Tomoyoshi Koyama who was fourth fastest after the first day of practice with 01’39.889s. Splitting the two protagonists apart is wildcard entry Chalermpol Polamai who clocked third fastest with 01’39.830s.


“Forget about Decha. I just want to concentrate on Koyama because he is the one standing in my way. Of course being second fastest in the first day of practice has been hardly satisfactory but the weather has been unseasonably cold today, making it hard for us to coax the speed and grip out of our tyres. I have a lot to think about as the weekend progresses. There is literally no room for a single mistake,” said Zaqhwan.

Fellow Malaysian Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman, who also stands a mathematical chance of winning the SuperSports 600cc title, netted the fifth fastest time with 01’39.898s. Meanwhile, superstar wildcard entry Zulfahmi Khairuddin narrowly made it into the top 10, but was 0.7 seconds off the lead rider’s pace.


“I am enjoying this opportunity and while there is plenty to improve, I should say that we are looking good for the first day of practice. I’ve not had any chance to ride the team BikeART Racing Kawasaki bike before this weekend so you could say that I am still getting into the groove of things,” said Zulfahmi.


Round 6 ARRC – Day 1 – Combined Practice 1 & 2:

SuperSports 600
1. Decha Kraisart (THA) Yamaha 1’39.586s
2. Md Zaqhwan Zaidi (MAS) Honda 1’39.716s
3. Chalermpol Polamai (THA) Yamaha 1’39.830s
4. Tomoyoshi Koyama (JPN) Honda 1’39.889s
5. Azlan Shah Kamruzaman (MAS) Kawasaki 1’39.898s
*10. Zulfahmi Khairuddin (MAS) Kawasaki 1’40.351s

Asia Production 250cc
1. Apiwat Wongthananon (THA) Yamaha 1’53.920s
2. Galang Hendra Pratama (INA) Yamaha 1’55.594s
3. Takehiro Yamamoto (JPN) Kawasaki 1’55.968s
4. Sitthisak Onchawiang (THA) Honda 1’55.976s
5. Ayumu Tanaka (JPN) Kawasaki 1’56.059s

Underbone 130cc
1. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana (INA) Yamaha 2’09.309s
2. Ahmad Fazli Sham (MAS) Yamaha 2’10.719s
3. Md Shah Khairil Hisham (MAS) 2’11.363s
4. Md Haziq Fairues (MAS) 2’11.679s
5. Md Adib Rosley (MAS) 2’12.016s

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑