Published on March 14th, 2018 | by Subhash Nair


Mercedes-Benz Museum Presents 30 Years of DTM Winning Cars

Fans had long awaited this highlight in touring car racing: in 1988 no less than five teams supported by Mercedes-Benz entered the lists with the 190 E 2.3-16 (W 201) to compete in the German Touring Car Championships. The first victory for the Stuttgart brand was won by Dany Snobeck in the ADAC Eifel Race on 1 May 1988. And Mercedes-Benz racing driver Roland Asch became DTM Vice-Champion in 1988.

30 years on, the brand is opening the final chapter in its DTM story with the current Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM (C 205): Mercedes-Benz is withdrawing from this race series at the end of the season. However, the great DTM successes are part of the brand’s motorsport history.

Up to 6 May 2018, the Mercedes-Benz Museum is exhibiting five cars from the DTM history of Mercedes-Benz. Four championship cars are presented in glass garages in the outside area, and can therefore also be admired outside the Museum’s opening hours:

  • AMG-Mercedes C-Class DTM touring car (W 202) driven by Klaus Ludwig, 1994 Champion
  • AMG-Mercedes CLK DTM touring car (C 209) driven by Bernd Schneider, 2003 Champion
  • AMG-Mercedes C-Class DTM touring car (W 203) driven by Gary Paffett, 2005 Champion
  • AMG-Mercedes C-Class DTM touring car (W 204) driven by Paul Di Resta, 2010 Champion

A further car, the Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM (2015, C 204 series) driven by Robert Wickens, is displayed in the Museum’s atrium.

In the 1980s it was the DTM that brought the two companies AMG and Mercedes-Benz close together. This popular race series was the key to increasing cooperation: AMG started a partnership with Mercedes-Benz with the 190 E 2.3-16 (W 201). Numerous famous racing touring cars were to follow. Since the start of its involvement in the DTM, Mercedes-AMG Motorsport has contested over 400 races in the DTM and ITC.

About the Author

Written work on @subhashtag on instagram. Autophiles Malaysia on Youtube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑