Published on February 25th, 2022 | by Subhash Nair


Every 2022 Subaru Model Sold In The USA Had Earned A Top Safety Pick Award

Subaru has long built its brand around extraordinary safety. It outfits just about every passenger car (besides the BRZ) with symmetrical all-wheel drive. But it’s not just that, they take into special consideration energy flow paths along the chassis of their vehicles in case of crashes and outfit many models with EyeSight advanced driver assist systems to prevent accidents in the first place.

And for 2022, these efforts and more have paid off for Subaru. Every vehicle they’re selling in the USA has earned either a Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+ award from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

The Subaru Ascent, Crosstrek Hybrid, Legacy and Outback have won Top Safety Pick+ awards for 2022. Some of these models have won this award for as many as 17 consecutive years!

Top Safety Pick Winners include the Subaru Impreza five-door and the Subaru Crosstrek, which is sold in Malaysia as the Subaru XV.

subaru crosstrek hybrid or XV hybrid

Check out the press release below for more information.


Subaru of America, Inc. announced that its 2022 vehicle lineup earned four TOP SAFETY PICK+ and two TOP SAFETY PICK awards from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). Subaru has received more IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+ awards than any other brand since 2013, the first year of the award.

2022 TOP SAFETY PICK + Winners

  • Subaru Ascent (TSP for five consecutive years)*
  • Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid (TSP+ for four consecutive years)*
  • Subaru Legacy (TSP for 17 consecutive years)*
  • Subaru Outback (TSP for 14 consecutive years)*

2022 TOP SAFETY PICK Winners

  • Subaru Crosstrek (with EyeSight® and specific headlights) (TSP for 11 consecutive years)*
  • Subaru Impreza five-door (with EyeSight® and specific headlights) (TSP for 15 consecutive years)*

To earn a 2022 TOP SAFETY PICK or TOP SAFETY PICK+ award, vehicles must receive  ‘Good’ ratings in each of IIHS’s six crashworthiness evaluations; ‘Good’ or ‘Acceptable’ headlight ratings, and available front crash prevention that achieves “Advanced” or “Superior” ratings in both vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluations. The ‘Plus’ is awarded to models that come exclusively with ‘Good’ or ‘Acceptable’ headlights.

“We are thrilled to receive six IIHS awards for our 2022 model lineup,” said Thomas J. Doll, President and Chief Executive Officer, Subaru of America, Inc. “Our top priority is to provide customers with vehicles made to the highest standards in safety.” 

Since 2013, Subaru has received a cumulative total of 61 TOP SAFETY PICK+ awards, which is more than any other brand.* ** For the full list of 2022 IIHS winners, visit the IIHS website.

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

Written work on @subhashtag on instagram. Autophiles Malaysia on Youtube.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑