eni FIM Superbike World Championship 2014 Malaysian Round – Support Races


Published on June 7th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


eni FIM Superbike World Championship 2014 Malaysian Round – Support Races


Returning to competition in a brand new Ducati machine, Malaysian Super Series (MSS) defending champion for the Superstock Championship, Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin failed to make a dream comeback after he was upstaged by his rivals for Round 2, which opened today at Sepang International Circuit (SIC). Nashrul, who is the most successful rider in the MSS with three 135cc Production Bike titles and a 150cc Kawasaki Cup crown, was unable to match his leading rivals after only managing fourth fastest time in the morning free practice before dropping further to fifth in qualifying later in the afternoon.

Missing from the opening round, Nashrul’s hold on the crown would be severely tested this weekend as the current joint championship leaders Steve Martin and Nils Uchida Zakariassen shows strong intent to strengthen their position at the top of the standings. Round 2 of the MSS bikes competitions has been incorporated as support races for the eni FIM Superbike World Championship 2014 Malaysian Round, which SIC is hosting for the very first time in its history. Leading the championship with a total haul of 45 points, both Martin and Zakariassen will start at the front row for the opening race tomorrow after they secured the top two positions in qualifying today. Recording a best lap time of 2 minutes 15.020 seconds on his Kawasaki ZX10R machine, Martin will start from pole position with Zakariassen, who had 2 minutes 16.045 seconds, on his side.

Joining them on the front row tomorrow will be Ben Crookenden and his BMW 1000R machine. Nashrul, who is racing under the banner of Pelesit Generation Racing Team, will start from the second row. The battle of 600cc machines in the Supersport Championship looks set to be a private battle between the BikeArt Racing team-mates – Hazlanshah Mohd Noor and Muhammad Farid Barul Hisam, who were a class above their rivals in qualifying today. Hazlanshah, who is currently leading the championship, clocked 2 minutes 14.226 seconds to secure pole position with Muhammad Farid placing himself second on the grid with a time of 2 minutes 14.470 seconds. Ahmad Afif Amran of Petronas Hong Leong Yamaha is third fastest but was almost two seconds slower than the duo.


Likewise in the Superbike Championship, the stage is set for the battle of two close friends who know each other very well – former MSS Superbike champion Mohd Syahnas Shahidan and Malaysia’s two-time Moto2 wildcard rider – Muhamad Zamri Baba. Riding a powerful BMW HP4 bike, Syahnas drew first blood after edging out Zamri in qualifying today to secure pole position for tomorrow opening race. He clocked 2 minutes 11.384 seconds for his fastest time against Zamri’s time of 2 minutes 12.829 seconds

Double winner at the opening round, Muhammad Helmi Azman continues to be the rider to beat in the MGP-3 category as 14-year old Malaysia’s leading rider in the Shell Asia Talent Cup ruled qualifying today on his Honda NSF250F bike with a best lap time of 2 minutes 23.825 seconds. Japan’s Hijiri Yamamoto, who temporarily led the 20-minute qualifying session, had to be contended with second fastest on timesheet with 2 minutes 23.999 seconds. Fakhrusy Syakirin Rostam, who is also competing in the Shell Asia Talent Cup, is third.

The 250 Open class, which ran together with the MGP-3 Championship, saw Australian youngster, Brandon Demmey topping the contest with a time of 2 minutes 28.202 seconds.


Top 3 Qualifiers – Sepang Circuit (5.548km)

Superstock Championship

1.Steve Martin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2’15.020s

2. Nils Uchida Zakariassen (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2’16.045s

3. Ben Crookenden (BMW 1000R) 2’16.336s

Superbike Championship

1.Mohd Syahnas Shahidan (BMW HP4) 2’11.384s

2. Muhamad Zamri Baba (Honda CBR1000) 2’12.829s

3. Steve Martin (Kawasaki Zx10R) 2’14.234s

Supersport Championship

1.Hazlanshah Mohd Noor (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2’14.226s

2. Muhammad Farid Barul Hisam (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2’14.470s

3. Ahmad Afif Amran (Yamaha YZF-R6) 2’16.711s

MGP-3 Championship

1.Muhammad Helmi Azman (Honda NSF 250F) 2’23.825s

2. Hijiri Yamamoto (Honda NSF250R) 2’23.999s

3. Fakhrusy Syakirin Rostam (Honda NSF 250) 2’24.289s

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑