WTCC 2014, Suzuka, Honda Wins With Tarquini


Published on October 26th, 2014 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


WTCC 2014, Suzuka, Honda Wins With Tarquini


The Honda Civic driven by Gabriele Tarquini gave the factory team its first win of the season in the reversed-grid race at Suzuka. The Italian and JAS team-mate Tiago Monteiro struggled for performance on new tyres in qualifying and lined up tenth and eleventh on the grid for race one.


Crucially, Tarquini’s position earned him pole for thee reversed-grid race, and the former WTCC champion was unchallenged to reward Honda with a home win. Dusan Borkovic became the first Serbian to stand on a world championship podium by taking second place. The Campos Chevrolet driver survived being tapped by the chasing Norbert Michelisz into Suzuka’s final chicane on the opening lap. Borkovic took to the escape road and continued with no apparent loss of pace to finish 2.6s ahead of Zengo Honda driver Michelisz at the chequered flag.

Former Japanese Formula 3 and Formula Nippon champion Tom Coronel was kept busy in the closing laps as heavy pressure was applied from the Citroen trio of Yvan Muller, new champion Jose Maria Lopez and Sebastien Loeb. Perhaps chastened after clouting Hugo Valente earlier in the race, Muller resisted any further bold overtaking efforts, and the Dutch veteran held his cool to take fourth.


Lopez had shoulder-rubbed his way past Loeb on the exit of Spoon earlier in the race, proving that overtaking on the Suzuka Grand Prix circuit was possible if a challenge. Valente was knocked out of fifth place by Muller at the hairpin on lap four. The Campos driver had extended a small gap over Muller, but took an extremely wide line into the hairpin that invited a lunge from the number one C-Elysee. Muller smacked into the rear of Cruze but emerged from a scramble of tyre smoke on the exit of the corner maintaining his position ahead of his two team-mates.


1Gabriele TarquiniCastrol Honda WTC TeamHonda23m55.783s
2Dusan BorkovicNIS Petrol by Campos RacingChevrolet1.725s
3Norbert MicheliszZengo MotorsportHonda4.360s
4Tom CoronelROAL MotorsportChevrolet5.497s
5Yvan MullerCitroen Total WTCCCitroen6.116s
6Jose Maria LopezCitroen Total WTCCCitroen6.346s
7Sebastien LoebCitroen Total WTCCCitroen6.665s
8Gianni Munnich MotorsportChevrolet14.062s
9Tiago MonteiroCastrol Honda WTC TeamHonda14.791s
10Tom ChiltonROAL MotorsportChevrolet15.104s

Goodyear eagle 650x85(DSF)

About the Author is a service to the public and other website owners. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑