Published on December 17th, 2016 | by Amirul Mukminin


Perodua Bezza Wins 3 Awards at the Malaysia Car of the Year 2016

Perodua received three awards – Entry Level category, People’s Choice 2016 and the Most Significant Design Achievement – for the Bezza at the Malaysia Car of the Year 2016 Awards Night held on 15 December 2016.


“These three awards are recognition of our efforts to always place our customers’ safety and comfort in our products and services. We would like to thank all Malaysian especially our customers for their trust and support towards Perodua,” Perodua President and Chief Executive Officer, Datuk (Dr) Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

The Minister of International Trade and Industry, Dato’ Sri Mustapa Mohamed were present at the event alongside Chief Executive Officer of Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) Dato’ Madani Sahari.

Perodua Sales Sdn Bhd Managing Director, YBhg Dato’ Dr. Zahari Husin received the awards from Chairman of Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) YBhg Datuk Muhamad Noor Yacob.


This prestigious award started in 2002, when a group of motoring journalists established Malaysia’s first Car of the Year Awards. For this year, the event held at the Saujana hotel, Subang was organised by the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and named as Malaysia Car of the Year Awards.

The entry level category was measured by the criteria of the first-time car buyers that were looking for great-value buys, while for People’s Choice category, was based on online voting via website.

The Bezza was designed to be a compact sedan which offers space and fuel efficiency with affordability as the main goal. It was launched with the new technology and safety features which received a 5-star rating by ASEAN NCAP, making it the first 5-star Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) national sedan (for the 1.3L variant).


On 29 November 2016, the Bezza also bagged the Best Child Occupant Protection (COP) for Small Family Car category and Best Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) for Small Family Car category at the ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards held at Sepang International Circuit.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑