27 racers for the CAMS Australian GT Championship |


Published on February 26th, 2017 | by Daniel Sherman Fernandez


27 racers for the CAMS Australian GT Championship

A 27-car field will take to the streets of Adelaide for the opening round of the 2017 CAMS Australian GT Championship next month (March 2-5), with a record number of current-spec GT3 machines. It marks the tenth time the CAMS Australian GT Championship has visited the city of churches, with eight of the world’s leading automotive marques represented for the occasion.

Joining the local names on track are international factory drivers Côme Ledogar and Kelvin van der Linde. Part of McLaren’s 2016 Blancpain Endurance Series winning team, Ledogar made his Australian GT debut at Highlands at the end of 2016, making an immediate impact. Ledogar will join Fraser Ross at the wheel of a McLaren 650S GT3, run by reigning CAMS Australian Endurance Championship winning team Tekno Autosport.

Meanwhile 20-year-old van der Linde will share duties with Geoff Emery in the #74 Jamec Pem Audi R8 LMS. Despite his youth, van der Linde has already notched up a host of championship successes, including the ADAC GT Masters in 2015 – Germany’s equivalent of the CAMS Australian GT Championship. They’ll go door-to-door with familiar names such as Craig Baird and Scott Taylor, who will share one of Scott Taylor Motorsport’s two Mercedes-AMG GT3s. Max Twigg will pilot the team’s second entry, rekindling a relationship with Mercedes that began in 2015.

Former Bathurst 1000 winner Steve Richards will share the duties in the BMW Team SRM M6 GT3 with James Bergmuller, who will make his Australian GT debut in Adelaide.

Bentley returns to Australian GT courtesy of Heretic Autosport, with motorsport legend John Bowe joined by former Bathurst 1000 racer Melinda Price. Lamborghini will enjoy strong representation on track with a staggering eight entries.

Jim Manolios and Dean Canto will share the Trofeo Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 in what will be the iconic car’s first competitive outing around the Adelaide Parklands circuit. The seven other entries, all Lamborghini R-EXs, see Tim Miles and youngster Jaxon Evans will compete in McElrea Racing entry, while the race winning duo of Roger Lago and David Russell will join forces once again.

Peter Major will make his Australian GT debut, the former Western Australian Formula Ford champ will look to tame his own raging bull while Justin McMillan and Glen Wood return in their own example of the Reiter Engineering built car.

Audi is well represented with six entries, with Greg Taylor and Nathan Antunes continuing their successful partnership aboard the GT Motorsports Audi R8 LMS.

McLaren will field two cars; the Ross/Ledogar entry and the McElrea Racing run Objective Racing 650S GT3 for Tony Walls, who has fond memories of Adelaide after claiming his maiden Australian GT victory there twelve months ago.

Two Aston Martins will also take to the 3.219-kilometre circuit, with Tony Quinn driving the Darrell Lea entry and Tony Bates at the wheel of the sole Miedecke Stone Motorsport car. Liam Talbot will make his second Australian GT appearance in the Walkinshaw GT3 Porsche 911-GT3 R, while Andrew Macpherson and Brad Shiels will steer the AMAC Motorsport entered Porsche.

The Clipsal 500 marks the start of the five round 2017 CAMS Australian GT Championship, with three races across the weekend.

Australian GT 2017 Entry List

3    Bondi Wholefoods    Audi R8 LMS    Ash Samadi

4    McElrea Racing    Lamborghini R-EX    Tim Miles/Jaxon Evans

5    GT Motorsport    Audi R8 LMS    Greg Taylor/Nathan Antunes

7    Darrell Lea    Aston Martin Vantage V12    Tony Quinn

8    Scott Taylor Motorsport    Mercedes-AMG GT3    Max Twigg

9    Hallmarc Constrictios    Audi R8 LMS    Marc Cini

11    Objective Racing    McLaren 650S GT3    Tony Walls

14    Peter Major    Lamborghini R-EX    Peter Major

18    Heretic Autosport    Bentley Continental GT3    John Bowe/Melinda Price

19    Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation    Mercedes-AMG GT3    Mark Griffith

23    JBS Australia    Lamborghini R-EX    Roger Lago/David Russell

24    Miedecke Stone Motorsport    Aston Martin Vantage V12    Tony Bates

29    Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport    Lamborghini Huracan GT3    Jim Manolios/Dean Canto

44    Supabarn Supermarkets    Audi R8 LMS    James Koundouris/Ash Walsh

48    Interlloy M Motorsport    Lamborghini R-EX    Justin McMillan/Glen Wood

51    AMAC Motorsport    Porsche 997 GT3-R    Andrew Macpherson/Brad Shiels

59    Tekno Autosports    McLaren 650S GT3    Fraser Ross/Côme Ledogar

73    Triffid.Bar.Venue    Lamborghini R-EX    Michael Hovey

74    Jamec Pem Racing    Audi R8 LMS    Geoff Emery/Kelvin van der Linde

75    Jamec Pem Racing    Audi R8 LMS    Steve McLaughlan

100    BMW Team SRM    BMW M6 GT3    Steve Richards/James Bergmuller

222    Scott Taylor Motorsport    Mercedes-AMG GT3    Scott Taylor/Craig Baird

777    The Bend Motorsport Park    Lamborghini R-EX    Yasser Shahin

911    Walkinshaw GT3    Porsche 911 GT3-R    Liam Talbot

15    Veloce Motorsport – ULX110    Porsche GT3 Cup Car    Keith Wong/Michael Almond

68    Michael O’Donnell    Porsche GT3 Cup Car    Michael O’Donnell

69    Koala Motorsport    Lamborghini R-EX    Brenton Griguol/Tim Macrow

About the Author

www.dsf.my is a service to the public and other website owners. www.dsf.my is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site www.dsf.my. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this website is correct, complete, and up-to-date. www.dsf.my is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑