Published on February 11th, 2017 | by Amirul Mukminin


Race 1 of Lamborghini Super Trofeo Middle East Won by Antonelli and Roda at Yas Marina Circuit

It was a thrilling race, the one which took place at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi and officially inaugurated the new Lamborghini Super Trofeo Middle East. The victory went to the all-Italian duo formed by Davide Roda and Marco Antonelli, who finished first overall and ranked first in the AM class as well.

One of the most brilliant crews of the championship went out of the race at the first corner, after starting from the pole position: the Huracan Super Trofeo #7 of GDL Racing, driven by the 18-year-old Lamborghini Young Driver Rik Breukers and Axcil Jefferies (coming from the GP2 series), was the victim of a contact with the car # 55 of the team GT3 Poland, driven by Myszkowski-Lewandowski, which put an end to the winning ambitions of the fast young drivers.

After the entrance of the safety car, the Huracan #27 driven by Costantino Bertuzzi (GDL Racing team) and the two cars of FFF Racing Team by ACM took advantage of the situation. The two cars of the latter team were driven by PRO drivers at their debut in the series: Jack Bartholomew and Parth Ghorpade on the car #5, Richard Goddard and the young German female driver Carrie Schreiner on the car # 15.

The trio led the race until the pit-stop for the driver change, but during the second half of the race the game changed. Marco Antonelli, after taking over the wheel of the Huracan # 72 of the team Antonelli Motorsport from Davide Roda, managed to take the lead of the race, thanks to a good race pace and some overtakings against the leaders. Subsequently, the car #70 (Steven Liquorish – GDL Racing) went out of track, which first caused the entrance of the safety car, then the early end of the race with a red flag, thus freezing the standings 10 minutes before the official conclusion.

The Italian crew Antonelli-Roda therefore got the overall victory and the one in the AM class, ahead of the Huracan #5 of FFF Racing Team, driven by Bartholomew-Ghorpade (first in the PRO class) and the car #15, belonging to the same team, with Schreiner-Goddard behind the wheel and authors of the fastest lap of the race.

In the PRO-AM class, the victory went to the duo formed by Bertuzzi and Farmer (with the Huracan #27 of GDL Racing), fourth overall and authors of a good race. Second place in the PRO-AM class for the car of Konrad Motorsport driven by the debuting duo, Paul Scheuschner and Hendrik Still, while the third place of the class was conquered by the Huracan the team GT3 Poland with the drivers of the Super Trofeo Europe, Moczulski and Mikrut.

In the AM class, behind the winners Roda-Antonelli, the second and third place were conquered respectively by Vincent Wong, Top Speed Racing, and Andrew Haryanto with the team GDL Racing.

In the Lamborghini Cup class, the victory went to the Italian Gabriele Murroni, behind the wheel of the Huracan of Petri Corse Hurcan. The driver was at his debut in Motorsport.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑